We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place for a wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Museums & Gardens

Heritage Museums & Gardens
67 Grove Street, Sandwich, MA 02563 (Formerly Heritage Plantation)
508 888 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place for a wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Heritage Museum and Gardens hosted my son and his fiancées wedding. The grounds were a gorgeous backdrop for the wedding ceremony and for photos. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    79
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place was hard to find but once there it was very nice. Lots to see for all family members. Husband enjoyed the concept car exhibition that they have right now and my daughter enjoyed unlimited rides on the carousel. She also enjoyed playing the instruments and climbing up to the tree house. (Even though we did it all in the rain!) There is also a great outdoor exhibit right now that you interact with and a walk thru maze. Worth the drive to Sandwich from South Yarmouth were we stayed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
193 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Need to time your visit right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just visited the Heritage in the second week of June and unfortunately the gardens were a bit of a bust as the rhododendrons just finished blooming. A few shrubs were still flowering, but for the most part it was just wilted brown petals at this point. It's clear that if you visit when they're in full bloom it should be a spectacular sight. The gardens are still vast and nicely maintained, but there just wasn't much color (beyond the abundant green) to be seen right now. Our visit was salvaged to some degree by the fact that we enjoyed the car and carousel exhibits, but the $15 entry fee feels a bit steep if you don't get the full garden experience with it. That's not their fault, of course. The shrubs just flower when they flower. But ideally you want to visit in late May through about the first week of June.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rhododendrons and flowering trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited just as the Rhododendrons and flowering trees (which are amazing) were in bloom - lovely!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Rhodedendrom splendor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Try to visit at the end of may/beginning of June for the magnificent rhodedendrons of all colors. Other times of the year there are daylilies, etc, but nothing quite as magnificent.
On hot days, it can get stifling on the unpaved trails, but the open areas allow nice breezes. Other than the car museum, the other buildings (carousel, special exhibits) don't take much time to go through but offer some relief from the heat.
Not much for young children or older teens here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Museums & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.