We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Museums & Gardens

Heritage Museums & Gardens
Pine and Grove Streets, Sandwich, MA 02563 (Formerly Heritage Plantation)
508 888 3300
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 16 attractions in Sandwich
Type: History Museums, Gardens, Art Museums, Parks, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Springboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place was hard to find but once there it was very nice. Lots to see for all family members. Husband enjoyed the concept car exhibition that they have right now and my daughter enjoyed unlimited rides on the carousel. She also enjoyed playing the instruments and climbing up to the tree house. (Even though we did it all in the rain!) There is also a great outdoor exhibit right now that you interact with and a walk thru maze. Worth the drive to Sandwich from South Yarmouth were we stayed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    48
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Need to time your visit right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just visited the Heritage in the second week of June and unfortunately the gardens were a bit of a bust as the rhododendrons just finished blooming. A few shrubs were still flowering, but for the most part it was just wilted brown petals at this point. It's clear that if you visit when they're in full bloom it should be a spectacular sight. The gardens are still vast and nicely maintained, but there just wasn't much color (beyond the abundant green) to be seen right now. Our visit was salvaged to some degree by the fact that we enjoyed the car and carousel exhibits, but the $15 entry fee feels a bit steep if you don't get the full garden experience with it. That's not their fault, of course. The shrubs just flower when they flower. But ideally you want to visit in late May through about the first week of June.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rhododendrons and flowering trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited just as the Rhododendrons and flowering trees (which are amazing) were in bloom - lovely!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Rhodedendrom splendor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Try to visit at the end of may/beginning of June for the magnificent rhodedendrons of all colors. Other times of the year there are daylilies, etc, but nothing quite as magnificent.
On hot days, it can get stifling on the unpaved trails, but the open areas allow nice breezes. Other than the car museum, the other buildings (carousel, special exhibits) don't take much time to go through but offer some relief from the heat.
Not much for young children or older teens here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, NY
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The perfect time of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the perfect time of year to visit the Heritage Museums and Gardens. I had previously rated it after a visit in October which was less than ideal. Now, however, it is a real treat. Their famous rhododendrons are in full bloom, and they are glorious to behold. You can walk through the extensive property, but there are also jitneys that can transport you from exhibit to exhibit, or just take a loop around to view the whole area. We stopped at the carousel, a must-do for children and adults alike (and it is free -- donations gratefully accepted). The car museum had temporarily replaced its usual exhibit for one of mid-century concept cars. Very cool! We passed on going to the other museums as we had seen them so recently (in October), but nevertheless it was a most enjoyable afternoon!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Museums & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.