We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect time of year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Museums & Gardens

Heritage Museums & Gardens
67 Grove Street, Sandwich, MA 02563 (Formerly Heritage Plantation)
508 888 3300
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Shenandoah, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“The perfect time of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the perfect time of year to visit the Heritage Museums and Gardens. I had previously rated it after a visit in October which was less than ideal. Now, however, it is a real treat. Their famous rhododendrons are in full bloom, and they are glorious to behold. You can walk through the extensive property, but there are also jitneys that can transport you from exhibit to exhibit, or just take a loop around to view the whole area. We stopped at the carousel, a must-do for children and adults alike (and it is free -- donations gratefully accepted). The car museum had temporarily replaced its usual exhibit for one of mid-century concept cars. Very cool! We passed on going to the other museums as we had seen them so recently (in October), but nevertheless it was a most enjoyable afternoon!

Visited June 2013
3 Thank Sundancekid330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The gardens were gorgeous with a beautiful variety of trees and flowers. The car museum has an exhibit until Sept. of concept cars that never made production. Very interesting the way car engineers and designers think. The docent was very knowledgable and a car buff as is my husband. could have talked all day.

Visited June 2013
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Heritage Museum and Gardens has something for everyone. The museum exhibits are well done and really help the visitor understand the story being told. The gardens are exquisite. The rhododendrons were blooming when we visited and it was just beautiful. The staff was most helpful and really went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When you need a beach break, or to get away from the summer crowds, this is a wonderful place to go. The grounds are just beautiful, and there's plenty of shade when the sun is hot. We've been several times, the last being Memorial Day weekend during their rhododendron weekend, showcased hundreds of mature rhodies in a huge array of colors. Whenever you go, though, whatever is seasonally in bloom will be lovely. There's a maze that the children will enjoy, and I love the labyrinth.

There are a couple of permanent museum attractions and some changing exhibits. One of the permanent museum fixtures is an old time merry-go-round, which the kids will like to ride, and you will be impressed by the detail of these hand carved animals. In the past, they've had a exhibit that traced the timeline of merry-go-rounds, which I really loved. There's also a permanent classic car museum.

Worth the trip.

Visited May 2013
Thank jogginggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worthwhile at any time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful park-like setting with labeled trees and flowers. Very good docents. Special exhibits change from time to time...while we visited, concept cars were on display.

Visited May 2013
Thank IggyAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed


Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing