We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but not the best time of year to see it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Museums & Gardens

Heritage Museums & Gardens
67 Grove Street, Sandwich, MA 02563 (Formerly Heritage Plantation)
508 888 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Sandwich
Type: History Museums, Gardens, Art Museums, Parks, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Shenandoah, NY
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great place but not the best time of year to see it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had been to Heritage many years ago, and this time returned with friends who had never been there. Our first stop was the car museum. It was a little disappointing to see that the cars are now roped off as they had not been on our last visit. One would read a plaque regarding a car's interior, but it was impossible to see inside to see what was being described. I understand the necessity of protecting the cars, but it did make for a more disappointing visit. It was a chilly, drizzly afternoon, and there were very few visitors besides ourselves. We were transported to the Art Museum and Carousel via golf cart. (It is a long walk for even heartier folk.) The ride on the carousel is free, although donations are gratefully accepted. The art museum had lots of interesting Americana exhibits. The gardens are known for their hydrangeas and rhododendrons, but of course they are not blooming at this time of year. Admission is not inexpensive, but there is a $2 per person discount for AAA members.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    65
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this park. The views are very peaceful and beautiful, and the antique car museum was good too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really nice way to spend the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've been to the Cape more times than I can count and am very sad that I didn't discover the Heritage Museums & Garden on an earlier trip. They are lovely and the museums provide an interesting slice of Americana. A quick spin on the carousel is a must do.

As a bonus, they have reciprocity with a number of botanic gardens so if you're a member, bring your card and get in for free.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The antique car museum is always so fascinating to me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I didn't want to miss the Norman Rockwell exhibit this year and I finally got a half day off work and scooted to Heritage. I was hurrying along to get to the exhibit and passed through such lovely gardens and trails. It helped me to slow down and enjoy nature for a little bit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun destination for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The walks around the gardens were beautiful, and they have golf carts for those who need them. We enjoyed the Norman Rockwell exhibit, and there was such a variety of things to see, that all of us found something of interest.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Museums & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.