We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandwich Glass Museum

Sandwich Glass Museum
129 Main Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
508-888-0251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum details the history of the Boston and Sandwich Glass Company.
Mendon, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went to the Sandwich Glass Museum for something to do one day while on the Cape. I have to say it was the best $5.00 we spent on our vacation!
We got there in time to see the glass blowing exhibit and spent a few minutes after the presentation speaking with the glass blower. Following that we walked into the theater moments before the program began. So interesting! We felt that the characters being displayed were actually LIVE and speaking directly to us! That is how real this presentation of the history of Sandwich is! There were many, many rooms of display: molded glass, pressed glass, lacy glass, patterned glass and more. So much to see and so little time! We were there 2 hours, until closing and will visit again to see all that we missed at the museum when we next visit the Cape!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    96
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great demonstration...the rest is informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The best part of the museum is the glass blowing demo. The glass blower was fun, engaging, knowledgeable...really super. If they didn't have the demo's on the hour, I would question the value of the stop. The movie was pretty good/informative, but didn't set a good background for the 'story' they wove, so wasn't as riveting that it could have been. The rest of the museum was OK....easy to get on overload. There is only so much glass and write ups that I want to read. I think we stayed for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Oh...don't miss the fun displays in the bathroom!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“entertaining and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

When I first visited Sandwich I didn't realise it was famous for its glass. I own three peices of Sandwich glass and it was fun to use the exhibits and the reference books to date my own pieces.
The glass blower was entertaining and made it interesting and the films were also good.
A brief step back into the history of Sandwich.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent for an hour or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stopped in not knowing what to expect. This was a great little museum! We saw two glass-blowing exhibitions (every hour on the hour), and the collection of glassware over the ages is impressive.

My four kids were given the "Treasure Hunt," a pamphlet with about two dozen items for them to find and then answer questions about. They stuck with it (some weren't so easy), and it really held their attention the whole time we were there. They were even rewarded with a little prize when they had completed their hunts!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We enjoyed this museum. Everything from the glass blowing demo, to the theater presentation, and right through to the contemporary gallery. Full of Sandwich history. We were there for an hour and a half and will return someday to learn more. The gift shop is lovely and we purchased something made by a gifted local artist. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich Glass Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sandwich Glass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandwich Glass Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.