We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good-sized rooms and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Hedge Inn

Cape Hedge Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cape Hedge Inn to your Saves list
Cape Hedge Inn
151 South Street, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Turk's Head Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
rhode island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good-sized rooms and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We chose this hotel because it could accomodate our family of 5. When we booked the room we were told we'd have a rollaway for the 5th person, but it wasn't there. The woman at the desk was very helpful and found us a rollaway. We set it up, and even with it set up the room was not crowded. the breakfast was good, but we thought it was more than we wanted to pay so our 2nd morning we got Dunkin Donuts. The walk to the beach was longer than we expected, about 1/2 mile, since there's no parking we got dropped off at the beach with our stuff so that only one person would need to walk to the beach. It was a nice weekend trip. We kept busy and unfortunately didn't have time to use the pool. There was a problem with our bill, but it was easily corrected when we pointed out the error.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We recently stayed at the Cape Hedge Inn for the weekend. We found it to be a good value, clean, and with an indoor pool. It was very kid friendly and close to the beach! Friendly, and helpful staff directed us to great restaurants downtown about a mile and a half away. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Let me preface this by saying that when we travel, we're on the go... so we're not in the room much. Basically, we just need a clean room with a decent bed and bathroom. Cape Hedge Inn met our needs just fine. It's not the most modern by any stretch of the imagination. Nor is there an elevator to help get you to the second floor with heavy bags. However, it is reasonably priced, clean, close to the center of Rockport but further enough so that it's very peaceful, close to Cape Hedge Beach, has an indoor pool, and it has a cafe that serves breakfast, (which was pretty good and again, very reasonably priced). The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that they didn't require a two night stay on the weekend, as we only had one night to get away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westfield, massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed here many summers. This Inn is in great area and overall, a good value. Only complaint was that towels were very cheap and stiff. Needed fabric softener big time. Great place to take children as there is a clean indoor pool and a wonderful swimming beach within walking distance. Breakfast restaurant is great and just a short drive to Rockport center.

  • Liked — Perfect beach area and fabulous ocean scenery
  • Disliked — The towels were cheap and stiff.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

This hotel was chosen because it has air-conditioning, a pool (a must for 2 active young boys) and we were allowed to reserve a first floor room. When we arrived, the room that was promised on the first floor was actually on the second floor creating a bit of chaos upon check-in. Also, for the length of our stay (4 nights) we found the owners to be rather unpleasant.

On the plus side, the on-site restaurant was convenient and served a nice breakfast. The rooms were adequate and clean and the location was a short drive to downtown Rockport.

We have heard that there are new owners (as of 2008) and we plan to give this motel another try as the only real drawback was the previous owner!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeHedgeInn, Owner at Cape Hedge Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Property is under new ownership and management since this traveler stayed. Property has also undergone renovation and updating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Hedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hedge Inn

Address: 151 South Street, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Turk's Head Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly hotel with heated indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Cape Hedge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hedge Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Hedge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.