We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding...as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Grasso's Cafe Bistro

Lo Grasso's Cafe Bistro
13 Railroad Ave, Rockport, MA 01966
(978) 546-7977
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding...as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We lived on Cape Ann for many years, and became devotees of LoGrasso's after our first visit way back. I had often commented that it was the equal or better of anything Boston's North End offered. We returned to Cape Ann and the Boston area this past fall after a 4-year absence, and visitng LoGrasso's was just like going...well, home. That is, if your home featured a dynamite Italian chef, and a warm ambiance that just embraces and envelops you. I've worked through most of the menu over the years, focusing primarily on the seafood dishes, and have never been disappointed. Donna's bread and desserts are scrumptious, and Sal's everything else is just dependably delicious. They've stayed with the BYOB even tho' Rockport is now wet, and it makes things ever so much easier. So after 4 nights in Gloucester--and two evenings at LoGrasso's--we moved on for a 4-day stay in the middle of the very North End I'd always compared to LoGrasso's. We sampled 4+ Italian restaurants over those few days and can now conclude, with more certainty than in the past, that LoGrasso's bests them all. Handily. Thanks, Donna and Sal, for a great Welcome Home!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    9
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LoGrasso's is more than excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

What a great find! The atmosphere was delightful; the service was outstanding, and the meal was delicious. My husband enjoyed chicken cacciatore, and I loved the crab cakes. The chocolate cake dessert could send me to heaven! Donna, the hostess was extremely attentive and made us feel like family. We loved our restaurant experience at LoGrasso's and can't wait to visit again! Yummy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Italian Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

LoGrassos is a local gem and the best restaurant in Rockport. Owner chef Sal proudly cooks Italian specialities on his regular menu as well as daily specials often timed with the seasons. Everything is delicious. His sauces are superb. On our last visit I had the lamb special, yummy and perfectly cooked, and my husband had shrimp scampi, a delicious rendition of a standard and a go-to favorite. When Sal makes meatloaf, just order it! The scallop puttanesca is just so good, I have to resist ordering it every time I go. Donna and the waitstaff are always attentive, lively and friendly. Donnas desserts are not to be missed. She creates new ones every week, again coinciding with the seasons and local produce. BYOB is an added bonus. Located near the train station, away from downtown, locals know it well, and many tourists are directed to it by their hotels. It's always worth the visit. While it may feel like everyone knows each other, that's just the ambiance of the place. We talk often to locals and tourists alike. But if you prefer to have an intimate dinner, that's no problem. Although everyone happily joins in when the birthday song is played! Be sure to visit when in Rockport. We will be at a nearby table. Reservation recommended especially on Friday and Saturday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We eat out a lot and this is our favorite restaurant. We've had everything on the menu and all the specials and have NEVER had a bad meal. Compare it to North End of Boston, restaurants in Italy, there isn't a finer place to eat on Cape Ann! Just go. Why would you ever leave the Cape? And you can BYO your own wine too. A + !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Love this place. The waitstaff is superb and the food is great.
A grat place to go before a concert at the ShiLin Lu.
I wish it was opened all week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Grasso's Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lo Grasso's Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Grasso's Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.