We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Save Saved
You added Yankee Clipper Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127 Granite Street, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Rockport B&B and Inns
Irvine, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This inn was our last stay of a two-week trip and we saved the best for last. We were made to feel right at home by the friendly host at this small inn situated right on the picturesque coast of Rockport. The decor of the rooms takes full advantage of the seagoing ambiance right down to a porthole in our shower overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. A lovely breakfast was served in the morning in the dining room with a great view of the coast line. The inn is located about half a mile from the quaint town of Rockport with lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Request a room on the third floor for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
82
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

You step in to a little piece of history when you visit the Yankee Clipper Inn. It is a neat old place with lots of charm and amazingly beautiful views! I loved waking up, making a quick cup of Kurig coffee on the landing, and sneaking back to our room to sit on our deck and watch the sun rise over the ocean. Spectacular! My bestie and I thoroughly enjoyed the spacious "Sea Witch" room. A comfortable fold out sofa and queen bed, we both had plenty of room for our travel gear and our endless shopping bags from the surrounding areas. The breakfast was awesome! Fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles and bacon, just what us girls needed before hitting the shops and seeing some sites. All of the staff were very friendly and treated us as true guests and friends. I hope to stay here again soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We visited the Yankee Clipper on October 26th-28th.We were visiting our daughter and her family who relocated to Cape Ann this year for business. We had a lovely room, our views were amazing. Our suite was spacious and allowed room for our grand- daughters to join us for an evening. The grounds were extensive with a gazebo we could sit in and watch the waves roll in! The large window in our room gave us an amazing view of the sun rise. We had the made to order waffle as recommended by Mike the owner one day and eggs with bacon and assorted pastry on the other days. The inn had a coffee station set up 24 hours a day including herbal teas, hot chocolate and flavored coffees all included in the room fee. The staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions even calling ahead to confirm hours due to seasonal changes. The housekeeping staff was great they even checked on us mid-day were they realized the girls would be joining us offering extra towels and bringing the girls Champagne glasses for their sodas! The atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming and we appreciate all the extra attention the staff gave us! We are sad our stay was so short and are booking a longer one this summer!

Room Tip: WE booked with Mike over the phone, he directed us to the website and provided suggestions based on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here last week to celebrate her 40th birthday! As soon as we walked in we felt comfortable and "at home". We stayed in the "Sea Witch Room" and it had an absolutely gorgeous ocean view! The room was spacious and comfortable. The shower had great water pressure! The manager Mike was very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was great and filling! I would definitely recommend this place! I will be staying here again the next time I get the chance! The views were spectacular especially with all the fantastic fall colors!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Snuck away for a night while on the east coast. Quaint b&b with nice rooms and good breakfast. Will stay here again when we are in the area next time. Manager greeted us personally and took great care of us throughout our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Be advised that the room named Lightning, does not have a sea view, and is approximately 13' by 13', with the small areas containing a basin and a WC, and a small shower cubicle added on one side.
For 'quaint' read tired and bordering on the dilapidated, a mattress that has supported too many bodies, a bed frame that squeaks and groans, and a recess that houses the stack pipe from the room above, that comes with it's own sound system every time the WC or shower is used!
Our overall view is that the hotel is overrated, over priced, and over the hill.
Breakfast was the worst we had experienced in 10 days in the US. The designer scrambled eggs and bacon was the only cooked food available, and the eggs were rubbery and the two meagre slices of bacon were not freshly cooked, but brought in cooked and in the words of Mike, 'nuked'!
Placed on cold plates, the breakfast was well on its way to being luke warm before it left the kitchen!
We were left feeling duped by the hype of the write up, on Trip Advisor, Booking.com, and the hotels own website.
Perhaps if we had been allocated a different room, our views may well have been different, but the breakfast would have been just the same! One couple actually walked out having been served the eggs and bacon!
To end on a positive, Yankee Clipper is in a great location, with the town being a10-15 minute all away, going via Beach Street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. You booked your room 2 days before arriving and even you admitted you were sorry you had booked sooner since you and I know you had booked the last room on property. Lightening is a "standard room" an old kids bedroom on property with a pool view and it is our smallest room. it was never advertised as ocean front or anything more then you claim. You paid a fair price on a sold-out weekend and obviously weren't really interested in paying for more than a standard room or an ocean room or you would of a done so!

As far as breakfast goes, we advertise a continental breakfast and offer hot made to order Belgian Waffles, Bacon that is pre-cooked and re-heated, and scrambled eggs on weekends along with our standard fare. It is included in the price of the room and to say it was a poor selection is really ridiculous! We had an issue one morning which I acceptfull responsibility for serving cold scrambled eggs on a 30 degree morning which I offered to remake and you refused. You then proceeded to order a waffle which you enjoyed very much unless you are bending the truth on that one also.

I did ask you how your stay was at check out and you said "everything was fine"

I wish as I do all my guests would talk to me personally about an issue regarding their stay rather than just posting a review like this. Its really easy to write bad things that can affect one's business but it takes much more personality and heart to look someone in the eye and just communicate with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spent one night in the "Lightning" room. Small and cramped, shower is a small closet converted into a shower on the other side of the room from a very small bathroom. The soap in the shower was a pump dispenser mounted on the wall that did not work. Bed was not good at all. The place is dated, musty and the windows dirty. The staff was non existent - except for check in at 3 PM. The place could be excellent but it just is not well maintained. I suspect that the virtual tour pictures were shot long ago.

The front yard view was beautiful. We just were totally disappointed in the room and the musty smell. We didn't stay for the free breakfast - Waffles - just because we wanted a good full breakfast and didn't have good expectations.

Room Tip: I had no choice in choosing a room. I got the worst one (at least I hope there wasn't a worse on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am sorry you didn't like the Lightening room. It is a standard room with a pool view and the smallest room in the inn by far. You did have a choice in booking a room you just elected to book the cheapest one! Perhaps if you choose to return you should book a ocean view room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 127 Granite Street, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankee Clipper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.