We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's House
Save
You added Captain's House to your Saves list
69 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The house is huge and situated directly facing the ocean and the rock formations below the wall. This is a superb location and setting. We enjoyed our early morning and evening photo forays!
The house is large and comfortable with a big living room with 2 open fires and large protected and open porches to choose from for seating choices to enjoy the phenomenal view. Is very popular and pretty much fully booked when we stayed in late October which certainly wasn't the case at other B&B's we stayed at. Noises throughout the house were quite easily heard so if you are a light sleeper I would recommend ear plugs..otherwise bed comfortable and bathroom in good working order.
Situated within walking distance (not close but 30 minutes or so) to Rockport and the Harbor is also a bonus.
Breakfast was excellent for a serve yourself buffet style. Fresh hard boiled eggs and freshly baked muffins or blueberry tea cake were additional to a huge bowl of fresh fruit salad, yogurts, breads for toasting and cereals. Coffee was excellent. All to be eaten on the front porches...superb really!
Oh and thank you so much for assisting my uncle and mother with some washing during our stay...it was very much appreciated!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house facing the ocean are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
70
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

One simple word . . . GO! Captain's House is a wonderful spot to rest a relax, something we have done for decades. We go back to the time when Captain's House was owned and operated by the current owner's parents, who made everyone who came feel as though they had come to a little corner of paradise. Now, Gretchen and Tim have taken up the mantle. The spot is unbeatable as it sits perched on Rockport's magnificent coastline. The rooms are delightful, and the breakfasts are delicious. Rockport is a wonderful town, and Captain's House is a comfortable walk away. We have returned time after time and will continue to do so. A trip to Captain's House NEVER disappoints!

Room Tip: We love Room 2. The private bath is around the corner, so you have to step into the hall to reach i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location is beautiful as is the house. Nice rooms with a few creaks that you expect in an old house. Hubby and I did not like the bed or pillows in room 3. The other B &B I've been in usually serves a full breakfast, but here there was yogurt, coffee cake, fruit, granola and juice/coffee. Walked into town which is around 2 miles. Didn't get to enjoy the area cuz we got in at 4:00 p.m. and left early the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location of the Inn on a point jutting into the Atlantic is about as good as it gets. Almost every room has a superb ocean view and leaving the window open allows you to drifts off to the sound of the waves. The inn is clean and comfortable and serves an excellent breakfast. The owners were away during our stay but and everyone at the inn helped with recommendations and advice even finding more ink for the printer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were so happy with our stay at the Captain's House, we were welcomed so warmly by Susan and Harold. This was our second time there and had such a good time we will go back again.Rockport is so welcoming as a community to tourist every where we go.The only thing is I want is the recipe for the granola, but if I had it I would not look forward to breakfast everyday while staying there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Metrowest
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We're not fortunate enough to live on the coast, but whenever we come home from our yearly visit to the Captain's House, in our bedroom we have a sound machine which simulates the sound of the ocean,and we play that at night in a vain attempt to make us feel like we are still in Room One. We had searched for a long time for the perfect place to stay on the water, a comfortable and elegant place that's quiet, with only the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks just below our room,and we found it here. The Captain's House is not for you if you need a pool, or a hot tub,or a swim in the ocean, but just to hear the waves at night and to sit on the rocks during the daytime looking out to sea. The added bonus in the spacious Room One is the attached sun porch with windows on three sides and a daybed for napping. Breakfast is highly adequate and laid back, also with ocean views. We like to wander around downtown Rockport, and travel into nearby Gloucester for dining (be sure to take a tour of the Beauport mansion,and walk around the Rocky Neck artist's colony). Gretchen and Tim are gracious hosts who make you feel like it's your own house while you stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a challenging review to write because we were extremely pleased with the on water location with beautiful ocean views and Gretchen was a very pleasant, helpful host. Also, it was about a 20 minute easy walk to town with nice ocean views along the way if the ocean path was used. In the evening there was a wood/fire pit that could be utilized. However, relative to other B&B's we've stayed at for comparable rates, we expected more. Breakfast was serve yourself buffet style and didn't include a hot entrée. Each morning did consist of freshly baked bread or muffins, fresh fruit and assortment of some other healthy options. Good but nothing fancy. We stayed in Room 1 which had a sun porch. Bright room with very nice views. We do think some things with the room do need attention including peeling paint, dirty window sills, stained carpet and dirty floor molding in the bathroom. Some of the furniture in the common area's were also a bit dated/worn. Bottom line, the location is great and the rest of our experience was average relative to other B&B's we've stayed at over the past few years.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Address: 69 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set directly on a rocky shoreline, our New England Bed and Breakfast Inn will give you that home-away-from-home feeling, with spacious living room with fireplaces, comfortable furnishings and spectacular water views. A continental breakfast is served on the sun porch overlooking the ocean. Each of the five bedrooms and five baths is tastefully decorated. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.