We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Pool

The Lobster Pool
329 Granite Street, Rockport, MA
978 546-7808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 restaurants in Rockport
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fantastic lobsters and great views from the picnic table. A New England tradition. There was a bit of a line, but it moved along and everyone was well-behaved (not always the case with a line!).

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    53
    57
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WINCHESTER, MASS
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Rockport's Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Of the many restaurants in Rockport this place offers a unique and wonderful dining experience. Sitting out on the picnic tables overlooking Folly Cove on a lovely warm late September day is an experience that we truly cherish. The food is good and the staff is friendly. We have not experienced the long wait that I see mentioned in other reviews but we would "wait" if we had to just to enjoy a lunch there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, loooong wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Lobster Pool was recommended to us by the owners of our B & B as a great place to bring a six-pack or bottle of win and watch the sunset. They were spot-on with their recommendation - what a great relaxed spot with beautiful views! For such a casual spot though, you would expect much faster service. It took 45 minutes for our food to come out after we ordered (and mind you, this is a place where you wait in line and order, not a sit-down spot with waitstaff). My swordfish was fine, but nothing to write home about - the sides (beans and corn) were much tastier. My husband got the "mini" platter of fried seafood. Thank goodness he got to the mini, because it was still a huge mountain of food, and he really enjoyed it. So a great experience all in all, aside from the wait.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot w/ nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've been here a few times; great spot with nice water view. As many people have said already... have someone order and the other person so find a picnic table outside. Last weekend we got a lobster roll and a 'mini" fried clam plate. It did take a while to get the food, but it was busy and I take that to mean each order is made fresh!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Frenzy in Rockport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Go at 5 pm. Someone should grab a table while another one orders. The steamed (lobster) and baked (salmon, haddock) seafood is best. If you can digest fried clams and calimari and the rest of the fisherman's plate, go for it. (Too bad they do not broil scallops!) Beautiful spot.

We made the mistake of arriving at 5:30, meeting friends and sitting on the rocks over drinks. When we went to order, the line was about 45 minutes long as was the wait for food.
The order line closes at 8 pm and was about 40 people long. Everyone wants a great New England experience. Don't miss it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pool also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.