We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster and Pasta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Shack Restaurant

Fish Shack Restaurant
21 Dock Sq, Rockport, MA 01966-1536
978-546-6667
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Rockport
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Lobster and Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Teenage kids fancied pasta. Busy restaurant , life music. Daughter loved the music I had the lobster linguini, excellent. Teenage son had pasta with meatballs, loved it. Daughter had had chicken and broccoli Alfredo pasta, excellent. My wife had BBQ chicken breast with baked potato and vegetables.
Great meal , great atmosphere, great views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    90
    31
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Saved the best for last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stumbled upon Rockport on our driving adventure about dinnertime, and set off to find a restaurant. Our first choice was the sister to this restaurant but they had already stopped cooking. We kept exploring and found a few closed up restaurants quite a few sweet shops open and only a few restaurants open. The first had a 25 min wait and the second we could not even get to the hostess stand. Low and behold we saw this looking down the street. We were told it was a 20 min wait but stick around it could be less and indeed it was. We were sat at the window just prior to sunset! Could not ask fo a better view or seats. As someone from the west coast I was looking at a lobster dinner and it was not disappointing! I could have had 2 steamed full lobsters for the price on one tail on the west coast! We enjoyed a wonderful meal with an amazing view and would go back anytime we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Day Trip Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After browsing Bearskin shops - and passing Roy Moore's Lobster shack - (a select your own fish shop) - we came to the top of the street where the sister sit-down AC resturant beckoned.

They served our favorite Sam Adams really cold - and had large menu, lots of variety and several daily specials. Husband said the haddock was the freshest he could remember and it was cooked just perfectly. The chowder was "damn good" - and we sat by the window with view onto the beaches and inlet. I had the two pound lobster - and picked it clean. The fries were down in fesh oil and were just right - brown enough without being too crisp. The wait staff was terrific with a personality and a bright smile.

Check out the painted mural of Bearskin strait - awesome. Clean restrooms, good AC.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great Views and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had an ocean view seat and were pleasantly surprised to find very reasonable prices for good food on the menu. Clam chowder was not one of the best - so we will not repeat that. Otherwise baked haddock and fish cake dinner was quite good and very inexpensive. It was a lovely meal and service was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good place to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Roy Moore's Fish Shack has actually 2 restaurants there, 1 is called just Roy Moore's & it's literally a fish shop with a few picnic tables in the back for awesome fresh off the boat seafood, you can pick your own lobsters if you want. We actually wanted fried shrimp so they sent us down the street to the Fish Shack. It had no outside seating but a decent view of the water after you look past the rocks walls. Our waitress was attentive & pleasant. We ordered a shrimp cocktail appetizer which came with about 18 small to med size shrimp very fresh & tasty. I ordered coconut shrimp, came with 8 large shrimps w/a light & tasty coating not greasy, my husband got the shrimp/haddock combo plates which had 10 shrimp & 7 decent sizes of haddock bites same type of light tasty batter non greasy. The combo plates are not on the menu you need to ask for it & they do have it same as shrimp cocktail they have it but you need to ask for it which is a little odd. It was all good & we both enjoyed our meals total was about $60 w/drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Shack Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fish Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Shack Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.