We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid 3.8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven South Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seven South Street Inn to your Saves list
Seven South Street Inn
7 South Street, Rockport, MA 01966   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A solid 3.8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed at the Seven South Street Inn. I cannot say it's a five but it's solidly a 3.8. It's a cute inn that has small rooms. The breakfasts are wonderful. Internet access is available but sometimes weak or limited. Not all plugs are 3 prong so laptops, etc are an issue. If you don't care about those issues, it's a 5. In terms of value for the $$ ...not bad. If your looking for something nice and affordable, this is it. Room 7 is far superior to all the rest and our favorite.

  • Liked — Proximity to town center
  • Disliked — room size, limited internet access, innkeepers seem tired of guests at times
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    12
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
92
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

How fortunate we are to have found Seven South Street Inn when staying in Rockport. This fall was our third stay there and, as usual, never a disappointment with the Inn or innkeepers. Cleanliness is at the top of our list and this Inn is spotless. Miss Debbie serves a full breakfast each morning that is a gourmet's delight. It is more like a brunch and leaves no room for lunch!
As for the innkeepers, Debbie and Nick, their hospitality and helpfulness make us feel like family - a home away from home atmosphere. When the leaves start to turn next fall, we look forward to returning to beautiful Rockport and the Benn's lovely Inn. The charm of New England is only seconded by the decor and charm of each room at the Inn.

The Village People, FL

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness of innkeepers, food, decor
  • Disliked — Not being able to bring our dogs
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy and return to beautiful Rockport
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

This year was our third stay with Debbie & Nick. We've stayed in three different rooms over our visits and each room is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are amazing, with fresh muffins and scones, fruit smoothies and wonderful entrees along with good conversation with the other guests. Each year we meet people at breakfast who have been coming back for 5, 6 & 7 years in a row, so visit this inn - you won't be dissappointed. Debbie & Nick are perfect hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

As a solo traveller I really appreciate having somewhere welcoming and safe to stay. I LOVE Seven South Street Inn. I've now stayed there 3 times and I feel like Debbie & Nick the Inn-keepers are friends. They were able to pick me up from Rockport station (a 20 minute walk, mostly uphill) and I stayed in Room 4, which is ideal for 1 person. The room is always spotlesslessly clean. It's got double aspect windows so you can get a nice breeze even on a hot day. It overlooks the back yard, and contracry to a previous reviewer the only smells wafting up were fresh ground coffee or delicious home-baked muffins.

Debbie is an excellent cook who takes pride in her baked goods (bluebeery muffins, belgian white chocolate scones etc) and her breakfast entrees (everything from Eggs Oscar to Waffles, to Apples Strudel French Toast with bacon etc). Her home made smoothies she serves with breakfast (in a champagne flute) are too die for.

Yes, there are other Inns in Rockport, but I doubt you'll get a better breakfast. Also if you are fussy about cleanliness (and I am), I don't believe you'll find anywhere cleaner.

Debbie is always happy to have a chat, but is also very good at gauging if people want to be left alone. The pefect hostess I'd say.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

I will never, ever stay here again. I reserved a room for $139 per night on the phone and my credit card statement came in with a charge for $179! When I called the innkeeper to discuss the erroneous charge he yelled at me and accused me of trying to get him to cut me a deal. Unreal. I do NOT recommend staying at this inn. There are too many other inns in Rockport.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

This inn was wonderful. The breakfasts were out of this world. HUGE! we didn't need lunch. We rented two rooms and both were extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. They were both decorated to the Nines, very well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

I was horrified to find a negative review of this Inn. I have been there a number of times and found Deborah and Nicolas to be gracious and considerate hosts. I would highly recommend this Inn, which is in a quaint New England seashore town, yet convenient by train to Boston and other North Shore communities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven South Street Inn

Address: 7 South Street, Rockport, MA 01966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seven South Street Inn is more than just a Massachusetts Bed and Breakfast. We are one of Massachusetts' best Bed and Breakfasts. When you're with us, you will get the best of both worlds: You'll feel as comfortable as you do at home, while at the same time our attention, first-rate cooking and cozy accommodations will make you feel like you've woken up into the best kind of dream imaginable.When you stay with us, you will be enveloped by our warm, friendly atmosphere. Our grounds are quiet private – there is always a little nook in which to curl up with someone you love, or to spend some quality "you time" with a good book. For relief from the heat of summer, we offer a swimming pool, and if you want to venture away from our grounds during your stay in Massachusetts, we would be happy to make a reservation for you for one of the many car and boat tours available in the area as well as other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seven South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 South Street Inn
Seven South Street Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven South Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.