We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor steered us wrong this time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Skiff Seafood & Grille

The Red Skiff Seafood & Grille
15 Mount Pleasant St, Rockport, MA 01966-1612
978-546-7647
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor steered us wrong this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I find it very hard to believe the Red Skiff Seafood & Grille is #4 for Rockport restaurants. I feel like Tripadvisor steered us wrong on this one! We went for lunch and were quite disappointed. The fried clams were rubbery with some unedible parts, and the BLT was average but with lame white bread. The burgers were fine. The waitress was okay but the decor poor. The cost of the meal was quite high for the quality of what we got, and during our stay we often times compared much better meals/the cost/portions to this one, and it did not fare well. Of all the cute and quaint restaurants in Rockport, pass this one by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    47
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Fish Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stopped for brunch. Cranberry pancake special was lovely, and chocolate chip pancake was more than enough for our son. I couldn't choose between the crab cake benedict and the fish cake benedict, so ordered half of each. Crab cake was decent, fish cake was awesome. I learned that they make the fish cakes fresh from haddock in house. That's the way to go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Quaint, comfortable restaurant. Our family loved going there for breakfast! Serves breakfast and lunch. Small, but luckily we never had to wait for a table. Loved going there - very relaxing and enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virum
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Seafood diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

In Rockport one is not surprised to find this place to be a seafood diner. Delicious lobster roll and lobster salad.
On this Saturday this closed at 3, hence not a dinner option.
A light beer would complement lobster very well. This was unfortunately not possible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very good food with the largest bowl of clam chowder we had all week! The only drawback was inadequate AC.....it was brutal outside and was not much better inside. Food was worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Skiff Seafood & Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Red Skiff Seafood & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Skiff Seafood & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.