We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exxxxxcellant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
64 Bearskin Neck, Rockport, MA 01966   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exxxxxcellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our second consecutive year we visited here. Best location in Rockport.
We parked the truck and carried the kayaks 20 yrds. to put in the water.
I wish there was shampoo in the shower and the coffee was earlier but this is the place to stay when in Rockport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    41
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
128
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just spend 3 days at this wonderful, peaceful, motel. Shops and restaurants everywhere.The owners are as nice and accommodating as can be. They take pride in making sure rooms are spotless. Maid service is top notch. There are not enough adjectives to describe how truly wonderful this place is. Oh, we already booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our first stay in Rockport and we were so delighted with our selection. Our room looked out over the ocean. Our room was spacious and a perfect vacation spot that we will visit again. There were so many great shops and eateries within walking distance of Bearskin. The owners go above and beyond to make your stay a perfect experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luqillo PR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at the Bearskin Neck Lodge this past weekend. Couldn't have been more pleased. with our accommodations. Only 8 rooms (and parking for 8 cars) and every room has a glorious oceanfront view. We walked to everything!! Many restaurants and many shops to visit and never had to take the car!! It was a perfect weekend in a perfect spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Shhh!!! Don't tell anyone but The Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge in Rockport, MA is only 40 miles from Boston and you can get there by Commuter Rail. That's what my spouse and I did this weekend. Good-by traffic jams and parking problems! (The lodge does provide parking for guests) It is just a 20 minute walk from the station to the lodge. Thanks to sidewalks all of the way and travel suitcases on wheels it was no big deal to walk there. Joe and his daughter are welcoming and happy to share information about restaurants, attractions and activities in the area. When you get to your room, which is immaculate, you will will be greeted by a beautiful ocean view. Since it is located on Bearskin Neck you can walk to everything. This place has it all!

Room Tip: Top floor has deck facing ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You will be amazed at the location of this lodge. Upon arrival through the one way street filled with shops, restaurants & foot traffic, Joe came to open parking space. He was very cordial & helpful. We especially enjoyed eating lobster dinner preordered from Joe Moore's along with clams from Top Dog & breakfast from strudel bakery on the deck overlooking ocean. Room is basic but the other amenities made this an enjoyable stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwcich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We discovered Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge in Rockport on Trip Advisor when we decided to stop and see the town on a lark on the way to Maine. I have never seen a prettier town or been so welcomed at an overnight accomodation. Joe & his daughter were immediately welcoming, gracious and great fun. The views were exquisite. We slept with the door and windows wide open and enjoyed a very peaceful town and the tide changing on the rocks below. Joe aided us with dinner reservations and travel guidance. We loved that our room was like going back in time to Grandmas. Immaculately clean. Enjoyed a glass of wine on the deck in front of the room before dinner. We are definitely making the trip back next year to stay at Bearskin Neck Lodge again. Hoping to bring more friends and family with us. Guests as well as the owner, Joe, couldn't have been more friendly.

Room Tip: We actually preferred one of the older rooms, but they are in the process of updating all of them. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Address: 64 Bearskin Neck, Rockport, MA 01966
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the call of the gulls and sound of the Atlantic Ocean - Come stay with us! We are nestled on the historic Bearkskin Neck in Rockport Massachusetts. Everything Rockport has to offer is within walking distance from the lodge, including the famous shops, delicious restaurants, and the sunny beaches! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.