We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Bounty on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Bounty on the Beach
1 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Captain's Bounty Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Rockport
fl
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

I never stay anywhere else other than the Captain's Bounty. It's never had all the luxury amenities others may have, but that doesn't bother me and you can't beat the view. I've heard "the Bounty" has new owners and I've yet to vacation in Rockport since. I'm hoping it will be wonderful as it's always been when I return - which I hope is soon!

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — It's pricey but I feel it's still worth it.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    41
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

My friends and I went to Rockport for our annual "friends" get-a-way. We stayed at the Captain's Bounty and couldn't have been more pleased. It was like having our own "cottage" right on the beach. Room and bathroom were clean and beds/sheets were comfortable and fresh. There is nothing like sleeping with a patio door open (it has a screen) and listening to the waves lull you to sleep. Guest noise was at a minimum which means walls were not paper thin like other establishments. Also had great communication during reservation process. My friends and I plan on bringing our families for a re-visit. I definitely recommend this delightful place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and service.
  • Disliked — No ironing board/iron/hair dryer in the room. Bring your own.
  • Tips/Secrets — Easy reservations via email.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband & I have been coming here for 17 years. This will be our 18th. We used to come alone to shop whale watch visit some great resturantsfor great food,best seafood is right here., relax on the beach right out your front door, and just get away. We are now enjoying retirement and come at least twice a year. Our 2 sisters and their families all gather here and this year we have our children and grandchildren joining us. With Tim and Maureen we are treated like family! If we don't have it, they get it for us. Tim has made several major improvements. Screen doors on front door for air circulation. New beds, furniture,bathroom floors ,towels,new entryways and 2 new staircases. Not to mention paint jobs and repairs and an excellent house keeping staff.They also tell us of new places to go & visit or dine. Shopping is great,so many unusual things you would not find anywhere else. For our summer vacation there is no other place to be. We are anxiously awaiting our June 06 stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

What a wonderful stay...Captain's Bounty is right in the center of everything. We parked our car and walked every where we went. We had wonderful weather and the beach was full of people. The rooms are right on the beach. The sound of the waves is so relaxing. The towels were big and fluffy and all rooms had a refrig and microwave so helpful. But most of all the rooms have all been done over and with such taste. Our room was a soft yellow with new furniture and new beds. We slept so peacefully. The rooms were so clean. The staff couldn't of been more helpful. They are always willing to go out of their way to guide you around town. The town of Rockport has such beauty.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

We have stayed at the Inn the for multiple summers -with the 'old' owner, and the 'new.' Our most recent stay, 8/2005 was very disappointing. While the rooms have been 'updated' there are still multiple issues that the owner has neglected. The bugs - centipedes etc all over balcony & room; bedding is only changed every 3 days - we slept with sand every night. While the balcony provides a spectacular view of the ocean, all of the chairs on our balcony were broken. We have also found that the 'new owner' is not very 'kid friendly.' The room's were 'OK' as far as cleanliness - could of been much better. Be aware if you are located on the first floor - dog hair and water from plants continually 'drops' from the upper floors, onto front sidewalk. The owner, Tim, was very unprofessional and condescending when these issues were presented to him. Unfortunately, we have ended our 'yearly trip' to the Inn. We have already made reservations at another establishment for next summer. Rockport however, is a fantastic area to vacation!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

My husband and I stayed here one night. We were in #37, a corner oceanfront efficiency. It was on the third floor (reserved for adults only - nice) and was accessible by outside stairways at the center and ends of the building. The unit was very clean including the frig and microwave; and recently remodeled as mentioned by other reviewers. The property has a small sandy beach and is a very short walk from Bearskin Neck. The view of the ocean from the small balconies is spectacular.

While all this sounds good, if you are a non-smoker, beware! Smoking is not allowed in the rooms, but is permitted on the balconies, which are incredibly small - perhaps no more than five feet in length and separated from adjacent units by only small metal railings. If guests in adjacent rooms are chain smokers, as ours were, you may be forced to vacate your balcony and close your patio doors. Although there was no A/C, the cool breeze would have been very pleasant with the patio door open. However, if we opened the door we had to deal with the second-hand smoke that permeated our room. If you suffer from asthma, emphysema, or allergies, look for another place to stay.

Overall it was a nice place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we followup after our trip with an email to the motel, the owner responded to us apologizing and indicating that he is re-thinking his entire smoking policy.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

New paint, new rugs, new flooring, new furniture including beds...........wonderful staff, great stay, best view location in town...I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's Bounty on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Bounty on the Beach

Address: 1 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Captain's Bounty Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Rockport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an oceanfront hotel in beautiful downtown Rockport -- all of our rooms have decks and face directly onto the Atlantic Ocean. The beach is entered from the side of our building. All of Rockport's shops, art galleries and restaurants are within an easy walk. Our rooms have cable TV with DVD players and Wi-Fi. Nine of our rooms have complete kitchenettes and all rooms have been extensively renovated over the last few years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Bounty On The Beach Hotel Rockport
Captains Bounty Hotel
Captains Bounty Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Bounty on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Captain's Bounty on the Beach to your Saves list