We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Awesome Week!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Bounty on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Bounty on the Beach
Save
You added Captain's Bounty on the Beach to your Saves list
1 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Captain's Bounty Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Denver, CO
1 review
“One Awesome Week!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We were fortunate to catch a perfect week for weather in the Boston area. We were also smart to research lodging in the Rockport area. Thankfully we came upon Captain's Bounty Motor Inn. At CBMI every room has a breath taking view of the ocean with an over look onto Front Beach. Note: The rooms are not air conditioned. But when we stayed, it was over 95 degrees and we never felt uncomfortable sleeping. Keeping the balcony door, bathroom window open, and the overhead fan on low, a nice breeze was always present. The bed was a queen size and very comfortable. The staff here, as with all people in Rockport, were very friendly and helpful. We rented a kitchnette and the maid service would even clean dishes and pans if we were in too much of a hurry to do it. There is free ample parking, a bit of a tight squeeze, but easy enough to maneuver. This area has so much history that it's almost impossible to take it all in. The town of Rockport is quaint with many interesting stores. I guarantee that everyone will find something to buy to take home. The town is filled with a bustle of people every night. There are many restaurants in town, from very reasonable to high end. Make sure to stop at the little Ice Cream Store in the middle of downtown. If you want the best coffee, I found in the area, better than Dunkin' Donuts ;), stop in at The Coffee Shop on the West end of town. I would not hesitate to return to Rockport and stay in CBMI again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
67
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Captains Bounty and we really loved it. The location cannot be beat and the inn keepers were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are basic but clean and well-kept and couldn't be any closer to the beach. Having never been to that area of Rockport, I wasn't sure how accurate their web photos would be, but I was pleased to find out the rooms and the surrounding areas were just as they were pictured. We had a few of our meals at Nates across the street and were really satisfied with the food. I recommend staying here if you want to be close to the beach for an economical price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Everything we could possibly have wanted! Wonderful views, wonderful owners! Perfect where they put us since we have a child who could bother someone underneath us-we parked above the parking lot so we did not worry about it. Owners were wonderful and let us use their towels on beach since we were limited what we could fly with. Wonderful attitude in staff all around. Much bigger bathroom where we stayed at last time- a definate plus. Unbrellas available if you needed, hair dryers. Every single room had a back sliding door with their own balcony with a full view of ocean and beach. Wonderful to listen to at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Went to Rockport for a weekend with my family while on business in Boston. We were looking for the New England experience. Selected Captain's Bounty Inn based on reviews from Trip Advisor based on its location (on the beach) and close to Bearskin Neck. We were not disappointed. We were on the 1st floor and all rooms face the Bay. The hotel is literally on the beach, each room has a small balcony and at high tide the waves lap up against the seawall at the base of the hotel, we left the sliding door open to the balcony all night sound of the ocean was fantastic. Rooms are a bit small but have everything you need to be comfortable, including a mini fridge and a microwave.

Location is incredible within walking distance to everything in rockport. Front beach is right outside your door, another beach just north on beach street, and bearskin neck not even a block with all the shops and restaurants. No coffee in the room but plenty of coffee shops up and down the main drag. small breakfast shop just across the street facing the beach they open at 7:30. They do allow small pets and provide movies to check out at the main office. After a day of exploring my kids enjoyed a move before bed, i sat on the balcony and enjoyed the scenic view and sounds for the ocean.

Only down side is they didn't have wifi, being an internet junkie i thought I would go crazy but actually there is so much to see and do that by the end of the weekend i was so glad we didnt have it.

I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We went to Rockport for a night, and I've seen the Captain's Bounty Motor Inn for years and thought it would be the perfect place to stay.

I wasn't disappointed! Tim and staff were sooo friendly, and welcoming. We walked into our room, and were greated by spectacular views of the ocean - it was almost as though the building was sitting in the water. We immediately parked ourself on the balcony, with a couple of cold drinks and unwound.

This is the perfect place to stay in Rockport. Parking is on site, and check-in is at 1:00 -- so convenient not to have to wait until 3:00 which is check-in time at most places. Shops and restaurants are all within walking distance, and the beach is right behind the building. Complimentary DVDs are available.

Everything was very clean, and we will definitely make this a yearly trip!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

The location is great,fantastic ocean views from the small balcony.Right on the beach.Parking on site.The motel itself is dated.You need to drag your heavy bags upstairs.Balconies have not much privacy or security at night if you decide to leave the screen doors open.The bathroom plumbing is old and noisy.We stayed on 2 nd floor for one night and it was relatively quiet but if you have noisy people upstairs or in the next room you will probably hear everything.Corner room or 3rd floor is probably better.
I probably would stay here again for one night.The rooms were clean and a good size with full kitchen available.The beds were decent.If you are looking for a romantic getaway for one night this could be the place.Rockport is nice place to visit.

  • Liked — Location,views,parking
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We had a great time. Will go back again. We just want to let all of you coffee drinkers out there know, that there are NO coffee makers in the double rooms. These is a coffee shop down the road, but I wouldn't consider it close for anyone with a disability. This subject is not a matter of life or death, but one that I thought should be brought to the attention of you other coffee dirinkers out there like me. I was disappointed, not have that FIRST CUP, especially on vacation, where there is a great balcony and view to enjoy it...

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Bounty on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Bounty on the Beach

Address: 1 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Captain's Bounty Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an oceanfront hotel in beautiful downtown Rockport -- all of our rooms have decks and face directly onto the Atlantic Ocean. The beach is entered from the side of our building. All of Rockport's shops, art galleries and restaurants are within an easy walk. Our rooms have cable TV with DVD players and Wi-Fi. Nine of our rooms have complete kitchenettes and all rooms have been extensively renovated over the last few years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Bounty On The Beach Hotel Rockport
Captains Bounty Hotel
Captains Bounty Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Bounty on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.