We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Bounty on the Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Bounty on the Beach
Save
You added Captain's Bounty on the Beach to your Saves list
1 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Captain's Bounty Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterford NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We wanted a weekend away between months of stress. Having to be in Boston on Monday we looked for a north-of-Boston location ON the ocean, and those are not easy to find, and especially not on late notice.

I hadn't seen the ocean in years and I wanted to be as close as possible to my old friend. Not across the street, and not up a rocky bluff, but ON the beach, with a tent if necessary!

Captain's Bounty on the Beach had one, precious room left. We were fortunate enough to put our name on it.

We were so grateful to find the location was perfect, ON the beach as advertised. In my world things are not always as advertised so I had a few doubts – oh silly me! In a short 36 hours I almost got my fill of the sea and the waves.

The room itself had a small kitchen with pots and plates which came in very handy; the mattresses, pillows and linens were excellent; the bathroom well stocked and well appointed; the privacy deck was wonderful.

The room was not fancy but it was very clean and exceedingly comfortable. There was some wear but no damage. I think the owners take care of the place very well, and paint and repair constantly and as needed.

Every room on all 3 floors has a balcony and faces the ocean so there is not a bad room to be had no matter what you book. Other reviews say you MUST get a 3rd floor, but we had the 2nd floor and it was lovely and perfect. Don’t feel bad about not getting 3rd floor.

The only advice I can offer is about traveling here. Make sure to arrive well before rush hour of whatever day you’re traveling – do the research. Getting stuck in traffic on 495 and other roads ruined our first day as it unexpectedly took almost 8 hours to travel 211 miles.

We are so looking forward to going back to Captain's Bounty and will try to bring our dog. The beach here IS a haven for dogs and their people so if you are not a dog person this might not be your place.

If you’re loud or looking to party, this is not the place for you. At check-in the owner told us that the hotel was a quiet one, and that people came there for quiet and rest. I wonder if he thought we looked like party animals!

If you need a room over the waves and are not fussy or stuffy this IS your place.

If you need a quiet haven on the beach to refresh, relax and meditate, this is the place for you.

And maybe I’ll see you there!

(Lisa & Mark from Waterford NY)

Room Tip: Every room has a balcony and the same ocean view. I can't say any room is better, just choose wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    46
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
69
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is our favorite vacation destination. You can't beat the views of the ocean, excellent rooms and service. We love sitting on the balcony in the early morning to watch the sunrise. Morning walks on the beach are our favorite activity too! The owners and staff are like family, so welcoming and willing to make your stay the best ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed on the third floor (the best place to for a room, pets on first floor) and faced the Atlantic and the beach. All of the rooms do. There is no elevator but the owner quickly and without request helped carry the bags up for us. You get to see and hear the lapping waves daily. What a treat. Because it is shallow here, you will be surprised at how far in and out the water goes at each high and low tide. I won't tell you because I encourage you to come and see it for yourself. It is just a few steps to the beach where locals and tourists hunt for sea glass. One of the jewelry stores heading into Bearskin makes beautiful jewelry from sea glass.
By "not the lap of luxury" I mean that the motel is older and the rooms are small. They have added A/C, as noted by other reviewers. We mostly used the breezes and overhead fan but did turn it on one night. You do get a frig and coffeemaker and other rooms have cooking set ups but we didn't stay in one of those rooms. But, the service was great and friendly.. The rooms were always clean and made up timely and well.
You cannot beat the location. it is just a walk away from Bearskin, the main tourist attraction in Rockport and across the street from a very old cemetery. We used Captain's Bounty as our home base for day trips to Salem and Gloucester and it worked out great. We saw other bigger, newer, fancier B & B's while driving or walking around. When I would check them out on various travel sites they cost more money. Plus, they were not right on the beach like Captain's Bounty and some were not as close to Bearskin.

I wish I could give them a 4 1/2 stars but I haven't learned how to do that yet...sorry ;(

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best views and is for adults only, but there is no elevator so consider that if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Yes....Sandy and not rocky like most of the coastal beaches.......and SEA Glass is easy to find !
Beautiful views from all the rooms. We were on the third floor which is a bit of a climb but the owner helped carry our luggage up the steps. We never even had to ask ! Friendly helpful service and since the owners live upstairs, they are always around for a brief chat or special request. Very nice couple who obviously enjoy making visitors feel welcome.
Our room was clean and comfortable ~ the little balcony offering a fantastic view. Coffee in the room plus refrig. & microwave. Easy walk to restaurants for breakfast or other meals and a wide selection of interesting shopping. Gloucester, MA is only a short drive away and it is an enjoyable day trip if you can tear yourself away from beautiful Rockport.......and that beach...and the hunt for Sea Glass : )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

third year in a row for us at 'The Bounty'. We had the best room in the place this year, not telling which one. I will say that it's pretty much a given that you need to be on the third floor. All rooms have a balcony and overlook the bay. Coffee on your balcony in the morning is something to look forward to each day. Like others have said, you can park your car and never have to move it. 'The Bounty' is perfectly located and everything is within walking distance. The rooms are clean and like someone else said the towels are big and fluffy. Owners Tim and Gwynn are very friendly and know everything about the area. If you're going during the summer you'd better book a room early cuzz the place fills up quickly especially since they've added A/C to all rooms. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Captain;s Bounty is located on a small beach, inside a quaint cove, in the beachside town of Rockport,Mass. The manager, Tim, and his staff were extremely friendly, accommodating, and very knowledgeable about vendors in the area that cater to tourist. His recommendations for restaurants, whale watching tours, etc., were spot on.

Our room was centrally located on the third floor of the building, and we had a spectacular view of the cove and the North Atlantic beyond. At night, the temperatures dropped into the high 50's, low 60's, so we would open the glass-sliding door and leave the screen door closed. That way we could keep any errant bugs out, while falling asleep to the sound of the lapping waves just below our balcony. We never used the AC or the heater.

The hotel is located conveniently close to the wharf, the downtown shoppes, and dozens of wonderful restaurants, all of which you can easily walk to, while leaving your car parked at the hotel. The accommodations and the friendly staff at Captain's Bounty served to greatly enhance our stay at Rockport. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the higher floor (3rd Floor) to enjoy the greatest view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a third floor room which was very comfy and cozy. I honestly believe that there are no bad rooms to this motel. Soundproofing was excellent and can't say enough about the luxurious towels! Very thick, fluffy and plentiful. We brought our own coffee mugs and the staff even cleaned them while we were out! Every room overlooks the beach with a balcony and it was great to fall asleep with the sound of the waves coming through the screened slider. Every room has a fridge and microwave and some have a little kitchen. We had the room with the fridge and microwave, but was perfect for our needs. Fridge was great as Rockport is a semi dry town so we brought our own beer and wine. We loved being near all the shops and Motif #1 and really loved walking at night going in and out all the little stores and galleries. Very quiet and peaceful location. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are adult only and all balconies and floors are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Bounty on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Bounty on the Beach

Address: 1 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Captain's Bounty Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an oceanfront hotel in beautiful downtown Rockport -- all of our rooms have decks and face directly onto the Atlantic Ocean. The beach is entered from the side of our building. All of Rockport's shops, art galleries and restaurants are within an easy walk. Our rooms have cable TV with DVD players and Wi-Fi. Nine of our rooms have complete kitchenettes and all rooms have been extensively renovated over the last few years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Bounty On The Beach Hotel Rockport
Captains Bounty Hotel
Captains Bounty Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Bounty on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.