We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish every Inn was like the Quarterdeck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
123 Granite Street, Rockport, MA 01966   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
New Hartford, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish every Inn was like the Quarterdeck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The room was spacious, clean,and inviting. The picture window facing east lent itself to a magnificent view of the rising sun and the moon over the ocean. Randy and his crew were very helpful and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middle Grove, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Our Room faced East, toward the ocean and we were able to watch both sunrises and moonrises over the Atlantic, to the accompaniment of the sound of the surf on the rocks in fromt of the inn.. I don't think I've ever had a more relaxing vacation.
We loved the village of Rockport and enjoyed walking the trails at Halibut Point State Park and cycling along the ocean.
Randy is a very attentive innkeeper and did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one.
We're looking forward to returning to the Quarterdeck Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

What a welcome change from the average inn...the view unmatched, the beauty so very serene...the peace, the quiet...spectular sun rises....the moon rising on the horizon with the sun's reflections. Falling to sleep and waking to the sound of the waves....and the room was awesome. Randy the innkeeper made us feel as though we were the only guest...never intrusive but always available with helpful tips and always a smile and a sincere greeting...We loved our stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

the hotel has rooms that can accomodate a family ( we had a king bed + a pull out sofa + a cot) and the room was large enough; tiny bathroom though. only pb : no breakfast on site. you have to go to another hotel (nothing special and really bad breakfast) or you can enjoy the breakfast at the Emerson Inn by the Sea for an additional 10 dollars a person - and this is a truly enjoyable moment : great breakfast with the view on the water. do not hesitate, take the breakfast at the Emerson, it makes all the difference (we tried both places).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The views are unmatched. From our bed we could lay watching the water and the horizon. We fell asleep listing to the waves, then walked right out the door of our room onto the bluff from where we watched the sunrise. Our room was lovely, well decorated, and very clean. The owner Randy was exceptionally nice and accommodating. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I cannot say enough about Randy, the owner, and all he does to ensure that his guests have all that they need: coffee anytime of the day, fresh towels and fresh cookies daily, help carrying our too-heavy luggage, suggestions for where to go and what to see, as well as where to eat. The view is unbeatable from HUGE picture windows as the water rushes the rocks, and relaxation is almost guaranteed as you lazily watch the early-morning fishermen haul in what you know could very possibly be your next meal.
The location is perfect. It's a short way from Boston, and within reach of several charming and picturesque towns.
I HIGHLY recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

If you're looking for a quiet, romantic spot, this is it, people. Innkeeper Randy knows how to make you feel welcome, and the location can't be beat. Check in, leave your car at the Inn and walk to downtown Rockport and beaches and avoid the downtown parking crush. .
Our room was lovely (you can hear the waves crashing on the rocks below) and Randy will make sure you get a great restaurant for dinner. We'd go back in a heartbeat.
Signed, Cowboy Hat & Baseball Cap

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea

Address: 123 Granite Street, Rockport, MA 01966
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.