We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nightmare, but a bad dream for a business trip...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rockport Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rockport Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Rockport Inn and Suites
183 Main St., Rockport, MA 01966   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not a nightmare, but a bad dream for a business trip...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The check-in experience predicted things to come. It took 15 minutes to check in; there was only one person in front of me. The WiFi didn't work - a real problem, as this was a two-night business trip. I returned to the front desk to request another room. It took another 10 minutes; again, only one person in front of me. I was given another room, but discovered that at this property, it's possible to get a room with WiFi, or a room with a desk, but not both.

There is a pool and very basic fitness room - two treadmills and a stationary bike. For no explicable reason, it doesn't open until 7:00 AM (really? why not open remain open 24/7 or at least open at 5 or 6 AM?). While I was in the fitness room, the manager came in to remove the empty water cooler container, but 30 minutes later still had not returned with a replacement. The TV in the fitness room did not work. No receipts are placed under door on checkout morning. (Fortunately, the trip to front desk to get receipt was brief.)

There is a basic breakfast included with the room price; complimentary newspapers available in the lobby. Rooms are reasonable size and clean; mine included a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. No premium movie channels are available. AC/Heater was loud and cycled on and off; the constant fan feature did not work. Only king rooms have a desk; rooms with two beds have a small table with two chairs...which are bizarrely low.

Rooms in the main building open to interior hallways; other buildings have rooms that open to the outside.

Room Tip: No views to speak of. Rooms in the main building (there are at least five buildings) will be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us... I also apologize for not meeting your expectations... our staff takes great pride in delivering quality customer service for all of our guests both corporate and leisure travelers and the specific needs of both. Speed and efficiency of check in, quality of amenities and an overall experience are all part of what our staff takes pride in delivering and we hope if in the area again you would consider us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    127
    34
    14
    2
See reviews for
136
147
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On websites with customer reviews I always read the one and two star reviews first. So when my friends and I booked 3 nights at the Rockport Inn I warned everyone about the soap that leaves a film, expected paper thin walls, noise from guests arriving in the middle of the night, etc. etc.. None of these situations arose. We had a wonderful time. There was no problem with our room. It was large enough for two and pleasantly furnished. The pool and hot tub were great. The first night we had the pool all to ourselves, although that might be because our stay was after Labor Day, so probably less guests in mid-September. The pool area itself is gorgeous, with high wooden beams that looks out on a patio with tables. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable, with a big fireplace and lots of seating arrangements - private little corners and sofas for groups. The continental breakfast was even better than the Inn's photo on their website. There was a nice selection of danish pastries, fruits, cereals, yogurt, toast, bagels, etc.. also, the second and third morning, the waffle lady made us delicious buttermilk waffles.
The young woman at the front desk was always friendly and willing to call local stores and restaurants for us, for info on opening times, etc.. The location was great - a few minutes drive to the center of Rockport, just far enough away for a peaceful setting. The room was always cleaned by the time we got back. So I would advise anyone to discount all the negative comments - and book at the Rockport Inn. I would definitely come back if I ever am lucky enough to return to Rockport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Rockport Inn and Suites. This review is a re-assurance of the level of customer service and quality our staff strives to provide daily... when a guest takes the time to research and then experience a property, and then shares of a great experience it is a great reward for our staff... thank you for this feedback and we look forward you you staying with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were on the road for 5 days between NY and ME and this was the cleanest, most comfortable accomodations that we stayed at! We have a small dog and we've traveled coast to coast, choosing to always stay at Comfort Inn Suites or Marriotts because they are dependably neat and clean with updated facilities and suitable morning breakfast buffets. Our room was every bit as nice as any Comfort Inn or Marriott. When we travel with our dog it is very much appreciated when we can stay in a room that is every bit as nice as one we might stay in if traveling without a pet and Rockport Inn and Suites surpassed our expectations in all areas. If I was in the area again they would be my first choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was a disappointment. The linens were nice but our room was so small and had a sensational view of the parking lot. It was like a Super 8 or HoJo's with better sheets. We had no table or desk and only one chair for a room rented to three adults. We had to move the bed against the wall to set up the cot for our friend. Cost with AAA discount: $231.77

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us especially the room type experience!! we often try to make sure we appropriately accommodate our guests with the correct room type and by having three adults in an accessible king, we did not do that!! please consider the Rockport Inn and Suites again if in the area and give us the opportunity to provide you with a double queen bedroom or one of our two room suites and provide you with the stay to be expected!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked the Rockport Inn because it was pet friendly. We were greeted by friendly staff who dealt swiftly with our check in. The room was very clean and well presented and was ready for our arrival. Breakfast was included in the rate although it was not as amazing as a number of previous reviewers have stated considering the cost of the room certainly if you compare to similarly priced hotels I have stayed at elsewhere in the world. I am not sure if we missed it but did not see a sign telling us how to obtain waffles?
Other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Rockport Inn and Suites... we are thrilled to be pet friendly and often enjoy the variety of pet "guests" we get to encounter... Hopefully on your next visit to Rockport you will be able to experience the hospitality of Dottie the "waffle Lady" and one of her homemade waffles!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a wonderful experience. Treated with smiles and a lot of positive energy thoughout or stay. My family was taken care of very well with our lodging plans. The accomidations were very clean, and our room was ready and waiting upon arrival.
Morgan at the desk was very helpful, and very imformative. Answered all our questions with zest for her position. When we woke from our comfortable beds in the morning, there was a complimentary breakfast awaiting us in the very quaint dining area near the front desk. A great choice of coffee, tea, and juices. Assorted rolls, coffee rolls, breads, cereals, and yogurts... Also Dottie, our happy attendant in charge of the dining area made everyone in our party her famous waffles! Truly hit the spot, along with the other fine breakfast foods. It's very nice to wake up in the morning and not have to reach in your pockets, and or have to travel to enjoy a fine morning meal.
The property is designed very well. The Inn is also very well maintained. The area reminds me of being on the Cape. I'd like to think this area is called in my mind... Cape North. This location really has quite the charm!

Thank you for a fantastic stay in your neck of the woods. Looking forward to a return trip in the near future to capture even more of the area.

Satisfied Customers!
Gary, Donna, and Lark Warner

Room Tip: We enjoyed being in the main complex. The rooms in the 100's allowed us easy access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review of the Rockport Inn and Suites... we really enjoy what we do and it is always nice to hear that we could positively affect others... Morgan,Dotty and our entire staff have committed to delivering great customer service and they continue to look for opportunities to do so... We would love for you to stay with us again soon!...

love the "pickle"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights with a bicycle tour and found the staff very helpful and accommodating to our group which was fairly large.Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom.Breakfast was included in our rate and was OK but not substantial.There is an excellent indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, but be aware that the pool is also available to town residents so can be a little crowded. It is a 15 minute walk to town, but there are some great places to eat and shop(if you're into that). The train station less than 10 minutes walk and it is easy, and fairly cheap, to catch the train to some other pretty towns to the south or even to Boston.

Room Tip: There are some rooms close to the road, so I would suggest asking for a room away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
It was a pleasure for us to have your cycling group stay with us and what a great way to see some of New England... Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your thoughts... The jacuzzi and pool are such great amenities for us and work epsecially well with a group like yours... we hope you will "spin" by again sometime soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockport Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockport Inn and Suites

Address: 183 Main St., Rockport, MA 01966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rockport Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockport Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockport Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.