We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely OVERPRICED & OVERRATED! Uncomfortable & broken down!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Inn by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Emerson Inn by the Sea to your Saves list
Emerson Inn by the Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Cathedral Avenue, Pigeon Cove, Rockport, MA 01966   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Completely OVERPRICED & OVERRATED! Uncomfortable & broken down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

The Emerson Inn ruined our first family beach vacation with our one-year old daughter! Our family was forced to leave the Inn and we returned today completely crushed and disappointed. We booked a king balcony room ($359/night) and upon arrival were sent to a king, non-balcony room. Mitch, at the desk (whom I spoke to during my phone reservation) informed me that it was a misunderstanding and I should have read my confirmation email. The king non-balcony room that we were put in for the first night was practically too small for our one year old's portable crib and the bathroom door would not close, making any privacy and romance completely impossible. On our second night, and because of the Inn's reservation mistake, we had to repack all of our family things and move to the queen balcony room. This room had an air conditioner that literally smelled of a wet hamster cage, completely disgusting! The bed was backbreaking and equivalent to something you might find at an Econolodge and we tried sleeping without the air conditioner to relieve the odor, but the weather was 90 degrees this week and left all of us without sleep, including our baby who is typically a great sleeper. We were up all night in this awful bed while listening to our neighbor snore since there is no soundproofing between rooms, completely miserable!! The staff had planned to have us move for the THIRD time because of their booking mistake (which they condescendingly blamed on us) to another room today, but we were all so sleep-deprived and disgusted by the odor and condition of the rooms that we left at 7am this morning after again informing the staff of our great disappointment. Moving rooms three times is also quite an ordeal with a baby! We were told that we would not have to pay for tonight, but since we didn't leave early yesterday, they probably wouldn't be able to book the room for tonight and we were charged for three completely miserable nights! We were given a $50 coupon off of dinner at their restaurant, hardly a gesture that could come close to making us feel better about packing up and taking our family home early from a trip that we were so excited about taking! We are all back home today unpacking and napping, another day lost that should have been spent away from home relaxing and enjoying the beach!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    75
    34
    21
    14
See reviews for
42
138
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conway, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

When we visit Cape Ann, we always stay at the Emerson Inn. The view is spectacular, the rooms are clean and inviting, the staff is warm and friendly, and the swimming pool is pristine and inviting. My wife says the showers have "great water pressure" something you don't expect to find in a B&B. We slept great, will be back! And the Food!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

impressive building decorated to the period. lovely room very comfortable bed (tv to side of bed only downside) breakfast plentiful and tasty, afternoon coffee and homemade cookies gorgeous, well kept grounds and swimming pool and view to sea from rocking chairs on varanda relaxing. mitch on reception very helpful and nothing to much trouble, definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We have enjoyed every minute with it, and will definitely revisit this lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

My wife and I spent a perfect three day weekend at the Emerson Inn. Our room was beautiful with a huge four poster bed and ocean views. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The grand parlor on the first floor is a great place to relax as is the large porch facing the ocean. The Inn has all the charm and elegance of a historic hotel and also has all the modern amenities like wireless internet in room TVs and a business center. I highly recommend the Emerson. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover,MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We just had the most magnificent experience at the Inn's restaurant for my husband's birthday. It was a function but you would never think of that when you see the varied and interesting menu. The meals are prepared with such interesting combinations of ingredients that each person, adult and child, finished their entire meal to the accompaniment of comments about how delicious the food is. Salads, entrees and desserts, the only items we had, reflected a special touch by the chef. The staff was delightful and flexible to work with and attended even small details. The location is just back from a wide expanse of sea with a garden in front. Many photographers stopped along an access road to take pictures then drive away. Wide windows let diners enjoy the view. The interior is old New England with large print wallpaper, ionic columns and large pieces of nice furniture. One thing that may sound funny is that the restrooms are classy, roomy and spotless-something that I don't always find in what appears to be a good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Beautiful, clean and comfortable. A perfect place to visit with family.
Helpful, excellent service with a smile.
Highly recomend The Emerson Inn By The Sea

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerson Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Inn by the Sea

Address: 1 Cathedral Avenue, Pigeon Cove, Rockport, MA 01966
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Front Accommodations, Al Fresco Dining, Fine Wines & Spirits. Member - Historic Hotels of America, National Trust for Historic Preservation. Member - Select Registry, Distinguished Inns of North America. Wine Spectator - "Award of Excellence." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Emerson Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.