We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outdated room.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Seaward

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seaward
Save
You added The Seaward to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   44 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Seaward Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location, outdated room.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The inn is located about a mile out of town, extremely quiet area. Beautiful views. Only downside was that the room in the carriage house was outdated and had a musty smell to it. Also, there was no remote control for the t.v. Breakfast was buffet style and enjoyable. The inn is a bit far from the town, it could probably be walked but may take a while. We drove in and it took about 5 mins.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent this past weekend on a quick trip to Vermont and decided to head back to Boston on the last day to be close to the airport. We found the Seaward Inn by accident — having tried other places in the area with no reservations — and WHAT A FIND! The view is spectacular, the rooms are cottage 1940ish in a nice way...and VERY comfortable...and an easy walk to the the shops in downtown Rockport and the Bearskin area. Breakfast (included) was great...what more could you ask for...a sea view...your own adirondack chair on the ocean...and a cozy room. Note that Rockport is a dry town and you have to go to Gloucester for a take out bottle of wine...but having a glass by your own private Atlantic rocky cove is worth it...it's rustic...relaxing...and has a welcoming staff...we thoroughly enjoyed the Seaward...will return if we can!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

My brother and two of my sisters came to Rockport to celebrate the 4th of July weekend and have a mini family reunion. One of us came from Long Island, one from Miami, one from Boston, and the other from Washington. Most B&B properties were trying to capitalize on the three day weekend and were forcing a three-night minimum. Since we were driving in on Friday and staying through Sunday, we were only interested in two nights. Enter the Seaward Inn, who were more than willing to accept our business for just two nights.

The Property:
The property is located at 44 Marmion Way right on the water. The property at first glance looks well kept and rustic, which is the way we liked it. There is a restaurant in the main building and breakfast in the mornings is free. There is a breakfast menu, but since we were there over the weekend, it was a brunch style breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon & sausage, hash browns, pancakes and French toast, muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee, and juice. Everything you need to start your day right. The restaurant also serves dinner, but we didn’t take advantage of that.

The Rooms:
We were able to check in early and we were given room 206, which was a suite on the upper level with a deck. We had a wonderful view of the ocean and our room had two single beds and on larger full size bed. The room had that rustic wood-paneling look to it, but it was very comfortable and just what we needed. Amenities in the room included a TV, phone, A/C units, and a small refrigerator. An earlier posted said that this property was in need of an "update," and while the rooms don't look like they were built yesterday, they offered everything that was needed for a comfortable stay. We kept our windows open at night, but our suite had two air conditioners as well.

The Location:
The Seaward is just far away enough from “downtown” Rockport so that it’s not that much of a hike to walk to town and it keeps things quiet in the neighborhood where the Seaward is located. The walk to town will take approximately 20 minutes and its through a very nice neighborhood with gorgeous homes right on the water.

The Staff:
During the check in process, during any interaction with the staff, whether it be the housekeeping crew or the wait staff in the restaurant, everyone was extremely friendly and cordial and always greeted us with smiles. This place is run right!

All in all, this was a great place to come to and experience that small-town America feeling, especially watching the annual 4th of July parade. The bonfire on the beach was quite the spectacle and recommended if you come here during the 4th. The town of Rockport is very nice little harbor town, and there are plenty of shops and a few restaurants to keep anyone happy. Our favorite stop was the Roy Moore Lobster company, which is this little shack in the Bearskin area where you come in amongst all the lobster & crab tanks, you place your order, they give you what you want, then you can either take your food to go, or make your way back through the kitchen and eat your food on their back deck. Fanciness would NOT be an appropriate term to use for this place, but for what it lacks in fanciness, it more than makes up for it in quality and price!

All of my family members were very happy with our choice to stay at the Seaward Inn and we will certainly stay here again and recommend highly to everyone.

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the quietness
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

My friend and I had just crossed America on our motorcycles. It took us 14 days from the Golden Gate Bridge to Rockport. We arrived in Rockport at sunset and needed lodging. The Seaward Inn was recommended to us. We stayed the night and found the room, the Inn, its peole, the owner, the views all a "10". Loved it! Wow. So cool. If you are a motel 6 type person, stay away. if you ENJOY beauty, history, quiet, and more, book a room at this incredible, beautiful Inn. A moment in time.

In the early morning, I listend to the quiet and watched the sunrise from the porch of the Inn. it was poetry. I read the guest signature books from the 1940s and could almost feel the era and the emotions of those staying at the Inn.

What a place! PS I have travelled, extensively, as an IBm sales exec over the last 30 years. I'ved stayed at the best resorts, hotels, and spa. The Seaward Inn will always be memorable and unforgettable. - John E. Roseville, CA

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg,NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

If you just want a peaceful tranquil vacation spot try the Seaward Inn. We rented a cottage with an ocean view. It was clean, had a queen sized bed and air conditioning if needed. Breakfast is included in the price and it too was relaxing. Your only two miles or so from the center of Rockport and all its shops and activities. Check the Inn Keepers Letter to see what specials are there we took the Whale Watch one and were very happy with the trip. The Inn has bikes you can borrow and its a great place to sit back and read by the sea. All of the staff and the Owner are so pleasent and accomidating. Go once and you have to come back again. Oh and if you like to paint or into photography they have special get togethers in the fall.
Loved It.

  • Liked — Tranquility and the Ocean Views
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We first contacted them by email through their website and they followed up with a phone call and we booked.
The location is wonderful. It is on the ocean, the road is quiet and off the well-traveled roads of Rockport.
The room was frankly a disappointment. We didn't realize we were going to be in an outbuilding that looked like a 1965 motel. The room, while a good size, and containing a king-sized bed, was very dated and dark with wood paneling So much for an ocean view. We faced the back on the ground level with nothing to see.
When we tried to get into the main Inn at 10:00 p.m. to at least sit in the parlor, have a cup of tea, and read, we were unable to enter. Although a sign states that your room key will open the door, that isn't true apparently if you're not in the main house. No one told us this upon registering.
Breakfast was delightful, cordial, and scenic.
We would consider staying there again, but not for the price we paid in the room we stayed - 159.00 plus tax.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed over a weekend in October when the town had a festival going on. The inn has the most amazing view of open Atlantic....we could actually see a mountain in Maine from our room!! The inn is quiet and gracious, as is the hostess. Everything is there to make the stay enjoyable, without the fluff of a fancier place. The food was good, the dining room had a great view. It is a short stroll to the beach or to town; but there is not the craziness of a downtown location. This beats having to drive 6 hours to the Maine coast!! You must try it!

  • Liked — The Inn and its views
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Seaward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaward

Address: 44 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Seaward Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Seaward 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaward Inn, nestled on the outmost edge of Cape Ann, has taken many shapes and forms over the past 65 years while remaining in the Cameron family. Although the main building and restaurant were sold in December 2013, the building formerly known as Spruce Cottage or Gulls Nest will now be available for weekly rentals for the 2015 season.  Guests can choose from our Cottage, Lover's Cove ( King Bedded unit), or Gully Point (Suite with Deck). Each unit has a private bathroom, Direct TV, free wireless internet, air conditioning, a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryers and plenty of free parking. There is also be an outdoor gas grille for your convenience and pleasure. The Seaward offers a refreshing, rustic seaside alternative to vacationing in Rockport with four unique choices of accommodations. Guests who visit The Seaward comment on the restful atmosphere, while still being close to a wealth of attractions including gorgeous nature preserves, great shopping, boating, whale watching, museums, and sandy beaches. We also offer bicycles to enjoy the winding rocky coastal roads and pathways with stunning vistas and breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. The Seaward is located on Marmion Way, known for its lovely homes, gardens and ocean views. Here you can relax to the soothing sound of waves lapping the rocky shore and distant fog horn while watching the lobster and sailboats pass by. We are a short & scenic mile to downtown Rockport which can be accessed along an ocean path. Along the way you will pass Old Garden Beach; a good spot for a dip, and "headlands" for an outstanding view of Rockport Harbor. Spruce Cottage -Enjoy two bedrooms - a queen sized bed in one room and 2 twin beds in another. The kitchen offers a stove, sink, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Although most folks prefer to relax on the front lawn, the cozy living room includes a kitchen table, fireplace couch and flatscreen TV.   Gully Point - Enjoy a deck with ocean views and rocking chairs. Gully Point offers accommodations for up to 4 people comfortably. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the rather spacious living room has accommodations for two more on a comfortable (full size) sleeper couch. Loblolly Cove - has a similar set up as Gully Point and can adjoin it to accommodate up to 8 people. Enjoy a deck with ocean views. On it's own Loblolly Cove offers accommodations for up to 5 people. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the living room has a twin day bed and pull our (full) couch.  Lovers Cove has ocean views, a king sized bed, newly conditioned hardwood floors and a small private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaward Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seaward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.