We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding on The Ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seaward

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seaward
Save
You added The Seaward to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   44 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Seaward Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wedding on The Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I had a beautiful wedding at the Seaward Inn. There is a gorgeous area with white benches right on the ocean where we said our vows and then we had our reception in the beatiful rooms known as the Sea Garden Restaurant. It was lovely. They piped in music and set up the ping pong table in the yard and made it a truly quaint/family experience. We chose to have a morning wedding and Peter the chef make a beautiful buffet (including chocolate chip pancakes for the kids). The cost was incredibly reasonable for an inn on the coast. All in all it was a wonderful experience. We also stayed in a few of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Overlooking to sea we certainly made the right choice here. The food was excellent and plentiful, the room was clean. tidy , and comfortable. The history about the place was interesting. The location was perfect for visiting the exquisit town (one mile away) alone the seafront walk.
If in the area again we shall certainly stay here.
Terry & Julie from Leicestershire UK stayed during May/June 2011

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We just loved this place. We were here for our 15th wedding anniversary and neither of us could think of a bad thing to say. The room was wonderful, the service was some of the best we've ever had, and the location was amazing. The room was clean, the view was amazing, and the breakfast was the best on our entire trip.

Between the staff and the breakfast...they have our business for life. What a treat.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeawardRockport, Manager at The Seaward, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Congratulations on your anniversary! It was our pleasure having you and we look forward to your next anniversary visit.
-Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Hello Dear Innkeeper Nancy: Thanks so much for the delightful stay last night at your unique and wonderful inn. You and your family have created a gem of a place in so many dimensions of the art of hospitality. It was great to meet you and to be served such a fine breakfast by your cousin's daughter Whitney. My colleagues and I appreciate the genuine warmth of your greeting and the quality of every detail of your exceptionally comfortable inn by the sea. And what a pleasure it was to walk along Marmion Way in the early morning and face into the teeth of that howling north-northeasterly gale that stirred up such a dramatically angry sea, a raging surf that pounded the rocks below with relentless fury. I think it is great that such a rugged stretch of Cape Ann is under your stewardship. I look forward to returning with my wife someday to your cottages and/or to your lovely dining room for a quintessential authentic New England experience, including walking the seaside trail toward the artistic center of charming Rockport.
Congratulations on all you and your family have built and nurtured over the years at the Seaward Inn. And thanks for telling us the story of your parents and sharing their photo. I am sure they were very proud of you and yours for the way you have perpetuated and fulfilled and even improved upon the bold and romantic dream that brought them to open the inn, 66 long years ago.
(Now that I have said a sincere thank you, let me apologize for forgetting to return the key to the Spruce cottage. I will send it back to you tomorrow. Whoops!)
Best wishes for a fine summer with your musical programs and other special events and your grateful guests from all over the country and the world,
A new Seaward fan in Maine,
Roy

Room Tip: Why wait 'til peak season? New England rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeawardRockport, Manager at The Seaward, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a whole-hearted review, it's guest experiences like this that make all the effort worth while! Hope to see you again soon.
- Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Fl.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Breakfast was very good. I think there was only one waiter but he ran around trying to accomodate everyone, very friendly. The rooms and rugs could use some updating but it seemed clean. We stayed in the main house. Victorian style, nice fireplace in sitting area at entrance of the inn. We had a nice ocean view. We were recommended to eat at the Causeway, very good and great service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The highlights of the Seaward Inn include the breakfast, which had a fantastic array of items to select from, the quiet location out of town but close enough to stroll into Rockport and Bearskin Neck (approx 15-20 mins) and the great views over the cliff top gardens. This is the perfect place for a peaceful getaway.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are very comfortable and well equipped, there is coffee on tap all day and night in reception, and there is a charming lounge area, which was lit with a roaring fire when we were there in October.
Some of the reviews mention outdated rooms - we thought they were charming. It would be easy to repaint them and trun them into bland modern hotel rooms, but that's not what the Seaward Inn is about. The flowery wallpaper, decor and furnishings add to the overall charm and relaxed feel of the place. If you want a bland box, go to a chain motel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The view from the "Lover's Cove" room was spectacular and the room was spacious, bathroom satisfactory. The inn had a genuine charm and history, but could still use some serious updating including the decor, without sacrificing those qualities. Rooms have no phones and internet access was not reliable. Breakfast was good quality, but service was slow. We feel it was overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seaward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaward

Address: 44 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966 (Formerly Seaward Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Seaward 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaward Inn, nestled on the outmost edge of Cape Ann, has taken many shapes and forms over the past 65 years while remaining in the Cameron family. Although the main building and restaurant were sold in December 2013, the building formerly known as Spruce Cottage or Gulls Nest will now be available for weekly rentals for the 2015 season.  Guests can choose from our Cottage, Lover's Cove ( King Bedded unit), or Gully Point (Suite with Deck). Each unit has a private bathroom, Direct TV, free wireless internet, air conditioning, a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryers and plenty of free parking. There is also be an outdoor gas grille for your convenience and pleasure. The Seaward offers a refreshing, rustic seaside alternative to vacationing in Rockport with four unique choices of accommodations. Guests who visit The Seaward comment on the restful atmosphere, while still being close to a wealth of attractions including gorgeous nature preserves, great shopping, boating, whale watching, museums, and sandy beaches. We also offer bicycles to enjoy the winding rocky coastal roads and pathways with stunning vistas and breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. The Seaward is located on Marmion Way, known for its lovely homes, gardens and ocean views. Here you can relax to the soothing sound of waves lapping the rocky shore and distant fog horn while watching the lobster and sailboats pass by. We are a short & scenic mile to downtown Rockport which can be accessed along an ocean path. Along the way you will pass Old Garden Beach; a good spot for a dip, and "headlands" for an outstanding view of Rockport Harbor. Spruce Cottage -Enjoy two bedrooms - a queen sized bed in one room and 2 twin beds in another. The kitchen offers a stove, sink, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Although most folks prefer to relax on the front lawn, the cozy living room includes a kitchen table, fireplace couch and flatscreen TV.   Gully Point - Enjoy a deck with ocean views and rocking chairs. Gully Point offers accommodations for up to 4 people comfortably. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the rather spacious living room has accommodations for two more on a comfortable (full size) sleeper couch. Loblolly Cove - has a similar set up as Gully Point and can adjoin it to accommodate up to 8 people. Enjoy a deck with ocean views. On it's own Loblolly Cove offers accommodations for up to 5 people. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the living room has a twin day bed and pull our (full) couch.  Lovers Cove has ocean views, a king sized bed, newly conditioned hardwood floors and a small private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaward Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seaward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.