We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halibut Point State Park

Halibut Point State Park
Gott Ave, Rockport, MA 01966
978-546-2997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Rockport
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Hiking, Prospecting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Scramble across ledges scarred by the granite industry and examine tide pools teeming with marine life.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonderful views, terrific (and well maintained) walking trails, extraordinary clambering on the rocks right on the water...what more could you want? You can easily spend 1/2 a day here, even more.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    64
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular view. Go to the visitors center and learn about the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

You need to be able to walk but the distance is not far. Nothing to dislike.n
The view and the quarry are spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Check it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice easy walk! You can bring your dog if you would like - very pretty quarry lake, then really nice view of ocean. Bring your camera!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went one Sunday with a Friend and my 4 year old Black Labrador. It was a great walk for all of us and we got to walk all the way to the ocean which was low tide so of course my lab loved it. It was peaceful and relaxing. I look forward to going there again. Maybe bringing a picnic next time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice walk around the quarry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Walked the trail around the quarry while using the informational pamphlet from the visitor's center. Also took the trail down to the beach and walked around on the rocks. My four year old enjoyed that part a lot.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halibut Point State Park also viewed

Rockport, Cape Ann
Rockport, Cape Ann
 

Been to Halibut Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halibut Point State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.