We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio to your Saves list
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   , 57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biodola
Certificate of Excellence
Bærum, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for a week this summer, and was really impressed with the fantastic staff (best we have experienced in Italy, and close to the best anywhere), the beautiful landscaped gardens, the atmosphere and the many activites on offer. Our 1,5-year-old really enjoyed the warmer pool, the fine sandy beach and the Peter Pan Restaurant! It was great to be able to let him have an early dinner, and the staff went out of their way to make his meals enjoyable.

However, as we had to put our son to bed early, we had dinner from the main restaurant delivered to our room several nights. And the food was really the only minus for us, but in our view a big one. Not only did they come with all the courses at the same time (ice cream same time as starter in 30 C...), but the food was really dissapointing. We actually went to eat in the main restaurant one night to see if that made it better, but only slightly. Pasta was overcooked, meat was overcooked, food was generally bland, and not at all what we associate with Italy. We really missed a small familyrun osteria, with food cooked with "heart", and joked that we too wished we could eat at Peter Pan. Thus, I'm so surprised to read so many positive remarks about the food here on TA. However, we must say we had a much better experience at the small but more expensive beach restaurant, which definately should be marketed better. We also ordered food from this restaurant to our room one night, but unfortunately it did not travel as well as we would have hoped. A shame, because if it were not for this, we would be back in a heartbeat! With slightly older kids, I can understand that all the positive things about this hotel outweighs this one negative. Our room (sea view) was very nice. Classic decor, but well kept and extremely clean. The pathways and gardens leading to the rooms were also very charming and romantic. A unique location.

Room Tip: We loved the sea view, but gardens are also beautiful. With young children we prefer a room with acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    62
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
84
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Family holiday in August. The hotel is gloriously unchanged from one year to the next. The staff are consistent and the experience too. Food remains fabulous, the location on the beautiful beach perfect and the service is great. The rooms are still the weak point being clean and comfy but not very glamourous but on a beach holiday this is not a major issue. We will keep returning. Trusting we can afford it!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Arranged a quick break at short notice. Staff really great as was the food with a wine list to match.
Wonderful beach too. Liked the can do attitude of the staff that in many locations in Italy is somewhat lacking.

Hotel a little tired in places in tems of decor and ambience, which is the ony reason I marked a 4 not a 5, bottom line is though it's a fabulos location.

The Saturday night Buffet was spectacular, great variety of food all of a high standard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I spent two nights at the Hermitage after a very pleasant stay at Park Hotel Napoleone to end our holiday with a bang, since Hermitage is supposed to be the best hotel in the island. I was very disappointed: location is very nice indeed but service level, food quality and room's maintenance level don't justify a price tag of almost 600 Eur per day. Very bad price quality ratio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I just arrived and already I am in love with this beautiful resort!!! as a Four Seasons devotee i find this hotel every bit as wonderful!!! from their wonderful staff (one might even say delicious... but i suppose that goes for most if not all italian men), to their beautiful rooms to amazing views and magical sunsets. The food is lovely as well and everyone is so friendly! I would definately reccomend this to any couples looking for a romantic getaway and families looking to relax by the pool or beach with their little ones! truly lovely!!!

Room Tip: ask for a cottage with a sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel has everything you could wish for if your wish is for a relaxing holiday by the sea. The location is incredible, nestled in the corner of a beautiful sandy bay backed by a picturesque tree covered hillside. You have the choice of strolling from your room to the sea for a cooling swim in the clear, sheltered water, or the huge, deep, sea water swimming pool. Should you be feeling thirsty there is also a stunning infinity pool where you can swim right up to a friendly, well stocked bar. Our 10 year old daughter rotated around all three, stopping off for a dip in the jacuzzi now and again in between. There is no shortage of activities available if lying on the beach is not your thing. You can take a walk around the coastline, hire boats, jet ski, windsurf, kayak or learn how to dive The staff are friendly and courteous and the hotel has a warm, welcoming atmosphere where you feel as if your enjoyment and comfort are paramount. There is a choice of restaurants and the food is consitently good quality and well presented.
Our daughter also made good use of the mini club for children which is well run by enthusiastic young staff and well attended by the children who really enjoyed it. We were there for the last week in June and there was plenty of space for everyone. It's not cheap but it's a really special place.

Room Tip: We had a family room in a cottage on the hillside. It was simply furnished with a large double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonstetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is just the best hotel of its type off the Tuscany coast. The service is superb and the private beach fantastic. Slightly overpriced but it's worth every penny. The best of all is that you can have your privacy and spend lazy days under the trees some few seconds walk away from the Mediterranean waves.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms far away from the main building with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biodola
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#1 of 26 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 11 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#4 of 11 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Address: , 57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio > Biodola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biodola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.