We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Biodola
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Arranged a quick break at short notice. Staff really great as was the food with a wine list to match.
Wonderful beach too. Liked the can do attitude of the staff that in many locations in Italy is somewhat lacking.

Hotel a little tired in places in tems of decor and ambience, which is the ony reason I marked a 4 not a 5, bottom line is though it's a fabulos location.

The Saturday night Buffet was spectacular, great variety of food all of a high standard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    46
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
53
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I spent two nights at the Hermitage after a very pleasant stay at Park Hotel Napoleone to end our holiday with a bang, since Hermitage is supposed to be the best hotel in the island. I was very disappointed: location is very nice indeed but service level, food quality and room's maintenance level don't justify a price tag of almost 600 Eur per day. Very bad price quality ratio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I just arrived and already I am in love with this beautiful resort!!! as a Four Seasons devotee i find this hotel every bit as wonderful!!! from their wonderful staff (one might even say delicious... but i suppose that goes for most if not all italian men), to their beautiful rooms to amazing views and magical sunsets. The food is lovely as well and everyone is so friendly! I would definately reccomend this to any couples looking for a romantic getaway and families looking to relax by the pool or beach with their little ones! truly lovely!!!

Room Tip: ask for a cottage with a sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel has everything you could wish for if your wish is for a relaxing holiday by the sea. The location is incredible, nestled in the corner of a beautiful sandy bay backed by a picturesque tree covered hillside. You have the choice of strolling from your room to the sea for a cooling swim in the clear, sheltered water, or the huge, deep, sea water swimming pool. Should you be feeling thirsty there is also a stunning infinity pool where you can swim right up to a friendly, well stocked bar. Our 10 year old daughter rotated around all three, stopping off for a dip in the jacuzzi now and again in between. There is no shortage of activities available if lying on the beach is not your thing. You can take a walk around the coastline, hire boats, jet ski, windsurf, kayak or learn how to dive The staff are friendly and courteous and the hotel has a warm, welcoming atmosphere where you feel as if your enjoyment and comfort are paramount. There is a choice of restaurants and the food is consitently good quality and well presented.
Our daughter also made good use of the mini club for children which is well run by enthusiastic young staff and well attended by the children who really enjoyed it. We were there for the last week in June and there was plenty of space for everyone. It's not cheap but it's a really special place.

Room Tip: We had a family room in a cottage on the hillside. It was simply furnished with a large double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonstetten, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is just the best hotel of its type off the Tuscany coast. The service is superb and the private beach fantastic. Slightly overpriced but it's worth every penny. The best of all is that you can have your privacy and spend lazy days under the trees some few seconds walk away from the Mediterranean waves.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms far away from the main building with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been visiting this hotel for several years in a row. After a stop of a few years, we were back this spring, and our very good impression was fully confirmed. The place is special, food is delicious, service couldn't be better. I saw that in some reviews people complain about the rooms. Of course it depends on your expectations. Each time we had a different room, sometimes better for some aspects sometimes for others, but never anything we could complain about. I love the rooms being among the trees, I love the peace, the view on the gulf, the flowers, the fireflies at night. Rooms are extremely clean, bathrooms are spacious, beds are comfortable. Each room has some private "space" outside, either a terrace or a little patio. We have always been off-season and the quality/price ratio was very good. I understand that in high season it can be very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this resort just before the season, in April. So it wasn't very busy but we could see the hard work going into the preparation of the beautiful pools and beach. The location is more or less perfect in an island of exceptional beauty. All was well kept and spruce, as were the very Italian public rooms. Our suite had a wonderful view and two terraces but was curiously under-furnished. The sitting room had a rather splendid sofa, a TV, a little side table but no table lamps and nowhere to write or read comfortably. Decor was just in need of updating a little but we were comfortable and the bathroom was fine and a very good size.

Others have commented on the price but we found the meals to be surprisingly cheap and of good quality, with charming and attentive service always. The price of our out of season suite was less than half the standard advertised rate. Reception staff were helpful but not always on the ball. We were undercharged when we paid our bill and had to point out they'd omitted the price of dinner the night before!

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Just got to have one with a terrace overlooking Biodola Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Address: 57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio > Biodola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Biodola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.