We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biodola
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel has everything you could wish for if your wish is for a relaxing holiday by the sea. The location is incredible, nestled in the corner of a beautiful sandy bay backed by a picturesque tree covered hillside. You have the choice of strolling from your room to the sea for a cooling swim in the clear, sheltered water, or the huge, deep, sea water swimming pool. Should you be feeling thirsty there is also a stunning infinity pool where you can swim right up to a friendly, well stocked bar. Our 10 year old daughter rotated around all three, stopping off for a dip in the jacuzzi now and again in between. There is no shortage of activities available if lying on the beach is not your thing. You can take a walk around the coastline, hire boats, jet ski, windsurf, kayak or learn how to dive The staff are friendly and courteous and the hotel has a warm, welcoming atmosphere where you feel as if your enjoyment and comfort are paramount. There is a choice of restaurants and the food is consitently good quality and well presented.
Our daughter also made good use of the mini club for children which is well run by enthusiastic young staff and well attended by the children who really enjoyed it. We were there for the last week in June and there was plenty of space for everyone. It's not cheap but it's a really special place.

Room Tip: We had a family room in a cottage on the hillside. It was simply furnished with a large double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    51
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
65
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonstetten, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is just the best hotel of its type off the Tuscany coast. The service is superb and the private beach fantastic. Slightly overpriced but it's worth every penny. The best of all is that you can have your privacy and spend lazy days under the trees some few seconds walk away from the Mediterranean waves.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms far away from the main building with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been visiting this hotel for several years in a row. After a stop of a few years, we were back this spring, and our very good impression was fully confirmed. The place is special, food is delicious, service couldn't be better. I saw that in some reviews people complain about the rooms. Of course it depends on your expectations. Each time we had a different room, sometimes better for some aspects sometimes for others, but never anything we could complain about. I love the rooms being among the trees, I love the peace, the view on the gulf, the flowers, the fireflies at night. Rooms are extremely clean, bathrooms are spacious, beds are comfortable. Each room has some private "space" outside, either a terrace or a little patio. We have always been off-season and the quality/price ratio was very good. I understand that in high season it can be very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this resort just before the season, in April. So it wasn't very busy but we could see the hard work going into the preparation of the beautiful pools and beach. The location is more or less perfect in an island of exceptional beauty. All was well kept and spruce, as were the very Italian public rooms. Our suite had a wonderful view and two terraces but was curiously under-furnished. The sitting room had a rather splendid sofa, a TV, a little side table but no table lamps and nowhere to write or read comfortably. Decor was just in need of updating a little but we were comfortable and the bathroom was fine and a very good size.

Others have commented on the price but we found the meals to be surprisingly cheap and of good quality, with charming and attentive service always. The price of our out of season suite was less than half the standard advertised rate. Reception staff were helpful but not always on the ball. We were undercharged when we paid our bill and had to point out they'd omitted the price of dinner the night before!

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Just got to have one with a terrace overlooking Biodola Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

THis was our fourth stay in five years so we are confessed addicts. The hotel is wallet-meltingly expensive but represents value all the same. The location is superb on Elba's best sandy beach, the facilities - four pools and an out door jacuzzi, private beach, tennis football gym etc etc - are impressive. The food is excellent throughout the resort and the Saturday night barbecues in particular are memorable. The staff are attentive and friendly and do not change form year to year. The rooms are not special, though they are clean and have been improved over recent years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a great hotel! I'm a frequent 5 star hotel, hard to satisfy, but I found the Hermitage very close to perfection.
Real 5 star service, amazing pools and beach, great children and sporting facilities, perfect staff.
Dining restaurant is to die for: every evening there was an ala carte 3 courses menu (for every course there was a selection of at least 4 options, it completely changes every day); two astonishing cheese and dessert buffet brought the dinner to perfection.
There is also a dedicated excellent children restaurant where my 1-year baby could eat one hour before us (excellent idea).
Once I arrived to the hotel I immediately noted that there were many accustomed guests. Now I've understood the reason why..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

This is a great hotel for families. It maybe isn't a five star hotel in the strict sense but it's fabulous location, great facilities and marvellous food complete with a relaxed attitude to families mean that this shouldn't really bother you. The waterspouts, tennis and pool facilities are very good. The Saturday night BBQ buffet is to behold.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Address: 57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio > Biodola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biodola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.