We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirm previous impression” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio to your Saves list
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   , 57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biodola
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
225 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Confirm previous impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been visiting this hotel for several years in a row. After a stop of a few years, we were back this spring, and our very good impression was fully confirmed. The place is special, food is delicious, service couldn't be better. I saw that in some reviews people complain about the rooms. Of course it depends on your expectations. Each time we had a different room, sometimes better for some aspects sometimes for others, but never anything we could complain about. I love the rooms being among the trees, I love the peace, the view on the gulf, the flowers, the fireflies at night. Rooms are extremely clean, bathrooms are spacious, beds are comfortable. Each room has some private "space" outside, either a terrace or a little patio. We have always been off-season and the quality/price ratio was very good. I understand that in high season it can be very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    62
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
84
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this resort just before the season, in April. So it wasn't very busy but we could see the hard work going into the preparation of the beautiful pools and beach. The location is more or less perfect in an island of exceptional beauty. All was well kept and spruce, as were the very Italian public rooms. Our suite had a wonderful view and two terraces but was curiously under-furnished. The sitting room had a rather splendid sofa, a TV, a little side table but no table lamps and nowhere to write or read comfortably. Decor was just in need of updating a little but we were comfortable and the bathroom was fine and a very good size.

Others have commented on the price but we found the meals to be surprisingly cheap and of good quality, with charming and attentive service always. The price of our out of season suite was less than half the standard advertised rate. Reception staff were helpful but not always on the ball. We were undercharged when we paid our bill and had to point out they'd omitted the price of dinner the night before!

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Just got to have one with a terrace overlooking Biodola Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

THis was our fourth stay in five years so we are confessed addicts. The hotel is wallet-meltingly expensive but represents value all the same. The location is superb on Elba's best sandy beach, the facilities - four pools and an out door jacuzzi, private beach, tennis football gym etc etc - are impressive. The food is excellent throughout the resort and the Saturday night barbecues in particular are memorable. The staff are attentive and friendly and do not change form year to year. The rooms are not special, though they are clean and have been improved over recent years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a great hotel! I'm a frequent 5 star hotel, hard to satisfy, but I found the Hermitage very close to perfection.
Real 5 star service, amazing pools and beach, great children and sporting facilities, perfect staff.
Dining restaurant is to die for: every evening there was an ala carte 3 courses menu (for every course there was a selection of at least 4 options, it completely changes every day); two astonishing cheese and dessert buffet brought the dinner to perfection.
There is also a dedicated excellent children restaurant where my 1-year baby could eat one hour before us (excellent idea).
Once I arrived to the hotel I immediately noted that there were many accustomed guests. Now I've understood the reason why..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a great hotel for families. It maybe isn't a five star hotel in the strict sense but it's fabulous location, great facilities and marvellous food complete with a relaxed attitude to families mean that this shouldn't really bother you. The waterspouts, tennis and pool facilities are very good. The Saturday night BBQ buffet is to behold.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Whole hotel needs redecorating - it looks tired. Rooms were basic and uncomfortable and in bad need of updating and redesigning. Bathrooms were utilitarian with cracked tiles, mouldy grouting, no bath and minimal storage. Lack of communal areas if there's bad weather (we had a few days of rain). Service is variable. Food is good but the three restaurants all offer a very similar menu. Not at all impressed - particularly considering the cost of staying there - and will not be returning. It's a shame because the beach is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I've been going to this hotel for the past 30 something years... and every year, it's gotten better, better, and better... the service is exceptional and no need to mention that since you are in Tuscany, the food is as well... Charming place... let the kids play and relax by the sea, in a jacuzzi or at the pool bar... Unique location. Worth the trip. Priceless moments...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biodola
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#1 of 26 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 11 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#4 of 11 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio

Address: , 57037 Biodola, Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Portoferraio > Biodola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biodola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Portoferraio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.