We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Richmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Richmond to your Saves list
The Inn at Richmond
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   802 State Road, Richmond, MA 01254   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Richmond B&B and Inns
North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First visit to the Inn at Richmond, the property looks neglected, cat smell on second floor. Traffic noise from Rte 41 all night (truck, cars and trains). Floor not clean in bedroom looked under bed had not been mopped. Outlet in bathroom did not work, handle of bathroom sink tricky. Certainly not worth $250 per night.

Room Tip: Stay in back rooms or cottages although we did not see inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatRichmond, Manager at The Inn at Richmond, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
As always, we at The Inn at Richmond are sad when guests have not felt that their visit with us meet their expectations.

As the Manager, I do my best to engage each guest during their visit in hopes that we can ensure a nice visit to the Berkshires and our Inn. Our apologies to these guests who didn't feel they could share their concerns about their room and the Inn over the two nights spent with us.

The noise from the road has been a concern since we lost a very large tree in front of the house during Hurricane Irene and it's insulative properties are definitely missed. We have been working to find ways to shield rooms on the front of the house from the inevitable sounds of traffic but it is a work in progress. So for future guests, if staying in the summer and the thoughts of throwing your windows open to enjoy the lovely country air, as these guests mentioned, you might be better to choose a room in the rear of the house (#2 or #4) or choose one of our cottages that are further back on the property. Otherwise, we've found that if one is using the air conditioner with the windows closed the noise is not bothersome.

As for your room, I must also apologize for the condition that you've reported. It has been addressed. As one can see from many other reviews, I try to communicate the importance of a pristine room upon guest arrival and some details definitely fell through the cracks. Also, I did forget to mention that we were waiting for a part for the faucet and that it was a little tricky. The part has since come in and the faucet is fine.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and be assured that if you chose to visit The Inn at Richmond again you would see the value for your dollar. Perhaps you'll decide to give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We were a challenging family to host in a B&B -- we were traveling with our black lab and our 10-month old son. So we stayed in the cottage, which is detached from the main building so we wouldn't disturb the other guests. The accommodations were top-notch. The cottage is in excellent shape (perhaps renovated?). Pam and her staff were amazingly flexible and helpful, setting us up with everything we needed (which was quite a few things in the end). And the breakfast was delicious! The location is close to Tanglewood and also not far from West Stockbridge, and hiking trails also abound. The inn is located in a beautiful bucolic setting, sharing the property with a equestrian center which fascinated our son. We wou,d definitely return and highly recommend this inn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Inn at Richmond is a lovely country B&B in the Berkshire Hills of Massachusetts. Our room (in the main inn) was basically a mini-suite with a comfortable living room and a very nice bedroom. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable, and breakfast was beyond great-- a frittata made with fiddleheads and a mixed berry fruit salad. Yum! Pam, the innkeeper, is charming and helpful and I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay if you're in the Berkshires for any of the many cultural attractions that make this such a popular destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I just want to say what a wonderful stay we had at the Richmond Inn on October 19, 2012. Although we only were able to stay one night we couldn't have felt more at home. The rooms and furnishings were beautiful. Pam our host went out of her way to help us. We had an early flight the morning of the Oct.20 and she got up early and made us coffee and provided us with a bag of goodies for our flight home! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Inn is in a beautiful rural area and is very clean, well maintained and comfortable.
The friendly manager, Pam went out of her way to be accommodating and
helpful. We can't say enough good things about her. The breakfasts were
excellent, - lots of fresh fruit and a good variety of main dishes all nicely
presented. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We routinely stay at B&Bs and have been to this Inn several times in the past. The positives include a friendly innkeeper and beutiful grounds. The negatives include mediocre food, cat smell, and an overall feeling of neglect for the property.

We stayed in the largest room in the inn and have enjoyed it previously as well as a stay in one of the cottages. I hope the the inn can regain what has seemed to have slipped away over the past few years.

Room Tip: The federal with the king poster and sitting room is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Inn at Richmond is a historic home on about 25- 30 acres. Most of it a horse farm. Pam greets people as they come in and she was very nice and helpful. The rooms are spacious and well kept and very clean. Just walking around the place was great as there are many places to just sit and chill. Which we did. I think this is a perfect place to get to Tanglewood. You end up taking kind of a back road and park in the western lot which is so much easier to get out of because you can just get right back on that back road from there. Back to the Inn. It is really a beautiful location with nice green rolling hills. And the next morning we heard the horses neighing out int the corrals which was actually a nice bonus. You can stay in the main house as we did, or there are cottages as well if you prefer more privacy. Breakfast in included and was very good.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms in the house and I think they were all nice rooms. I was not able to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Richmond

Address: 802 State Road, Richmond, MA 01254
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Richmond, a relaxing and gracious four season country inn located in the Berkshires, is an ideal escape. Visit the many Berkshire attractions – Hancock Shaker Village, Tanglewood, Barrington Stage Company and The Colonial Theatre or enjoy the quiet and beauty of the country as you wander the grounds, read in the perennial garden or chat and laugh with loved ones in the Library or Garden Room. The Inn at Richmond and the Berkshires … your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed Breakfast Richmond
The Inn At Richmond Berkshires, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.