We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the country treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Roast Beef

Kelly's Roast Beef
410 Revere Beach Blvd, Revere, MA 02151-4705
(781) 284-9129
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Revere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
La Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Across the country treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Grew up in Massachussetts... and it is a family tradition to go to Kelly's... Not for the roast beef, although it is REALLY, REALLY good... Not for the lobster (pronounce "lob stah" if you know what you are doing) roll... but for the honest to goodness Fried Clams. I am presently sitting in Sunny San Diego... could do anything I want right now... go to the beach, go hiking, biking, travel through the state parks, go to SeaWorld or the San Diego Zoo.... but here I am, at my desk, thinking about Fried Clams... and not the one's you get from other restaurants... you know... the mostly batter with little strips of "neck".... nope... I am thinking about Clam Bellies... big, tender and fried to perfection. Listen, I know you don't know me.... I know that you don't care at all about what I think.... I am not offended... it is just the way the world works... but if you listen to anything that I say, go celebrate being a East Coaster, get into your car and get some of the Fried Clams... do it for me. You can tell your friends and family that "you didn't want to go, but some poor displaced guy from Mass asked you to go and treat yourself, because he couldn't...".... if they hassle you, tell them I am terminal with a horribly complicated disease that just came out in the latest edition of the Medical Journal... and this is my last dying wish... tell them that a service member who is deployed overseas is unable to enjoy and that you are doing it for them... as a patriotic American who supports the troops... tell them what ever they need to hear to let you go... or you could invite them... and then you wouldn't get any flack... That's a plan... go and invite your friends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    9
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfasts, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Didn't go to Kelly's for either the famed roast beef OR famed lobster roll...went several times for breakfast while staying in the area. Kelly's breakfast sandwiches are the best you'll ever have and apparently they serve them all day. Unexpectedly, also, excellent coffee. Low prices, credit cards accepted. Only outdoor seating at this location: about half dozen tables, with a large sheltered beach pavilion as well, across the road, facing Revere Beach and Atlantic Ocean. Great local atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Based on the other reviews I've read, it appears we should have tried the roast beef. Instead we had the shrimp basket and it was average at best. It seemed to take quite awhile to prepare for a fast food place. The location across from the beach is nice though and allows for a leisurely walk before or after. The prices are reasonable. Based on the other superb options Boston offers (ex. Italian Express Pizzeria), I would only recommend Kelly's if you want a quicker stop and your primary aim is to be near the beach (or, you take the advice of others and try the roast beef). Otherwise, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Not what you think?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are expecting a restaurant, think again. Kelly's is a beachfront takeaway serving the most sublime beef rolls I have ever tasted. Cooked rare as it should be, the meat is so tender it melts as you eat it. Service is quick and the prices very reasonable ($19.40 for 2 rolls and 2 cokes Sept12).
There are plenty of beach side seats and tables opposite but the parking is limited to 15 mins near to Kellys. Lots of other items if you don't want the beef but believe me you really do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love this place, the sandwiches are hug and the beef is tender and rare. Other friends love the rest of the menu, I wouldn't have anything BUT roast beef at Kelly's.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Roast Beef also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Roast Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Roast Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.