We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Roast Beef

Kelly's Roast Beef
410 Revere Beach Blvd, Revere, MA 02151-4705
(781) 284-9129
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Revere
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Based on the other reviews I've read, it appears we should have tried the roast beef. Instead we had the shrimp basket and it was average at best. It seemed to take quite awhile to prepare for a fast food place. The location across from the beach is nice though and allows for a leisurely walk before or after. The prices are reasonable. Based on the other superb options Boston offers (ex. Italian Express Pizzeria), I would only recommend Kelly's if you want a quicker stop and your primary aim is to be near the beach (or, you take the advice of others and try the roast beef). Otherwise, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Not what you think?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are expecting a restaurant, think again. Kelly's is a beachfront takeaway serving the most sublime beef rolls I have ever tasted. Cooked rare as it should be, the meat is so tender it melts as you eat it. Service is quick and the prices very reasonable ($19.40 for 2 rolls and 2 cokes Sept12).
There are plenty of beach side seats and tables opposite but the parking is limited to 15 mins near to Kellys. Lots of other items if you don't want the beef but believe me you really do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love this place, the sandwiches are hug and the beef is tender and rare. Other friends love the rest of the menu, I wouldn't have anything BUT roast beef at Kelly's.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“If I want a shrimp plate, the only place I think of is Kelly's.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Visiting any beach is a good thing but visiting Revere Beach will bring you back to 'younger days' and all the energy that goes with a happening place. It is consistency that makes Kelly's so great, every time the shrimp plate is exactly what I expect. The shrimps are large, fresh and the batter is excellent. Accompanied by tasty french fries and nice helping of onion rings, it makes for a very satisfying lunch. Enjoy your take out sitting on the wall, beside the beach, people watching. I don't get to Kelly's near as much as would like but when I do, I always leave thinking 'That place is awesome' 3 1/2 mmm's out of 5

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss a chance to dine at Kelly's!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I were in Boston visiting some friends who used to live in Revere. They decided to introduce us to a very different dining experience at Kelly`s....it was amazing!! Delicious roast beef, huge lobster rolls and crab sandwiches. If you still have room, the fries are yummy too. The lobster roll is not exactly inexpensive but it is one of the best we have EVER had in New England! Kelly`s made for a nice casual evening down by the beach. You MUST go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Roast Beef also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's Roast Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Roast Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.