We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Loved the Breakwater!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Breakwater Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breakwater Motel to your Saves list
Breakwater Motel
716 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I Loved the Breakwater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently got back from a weekend getaway and stayed for 3 nights. The Owner Susie was most friendly and helpful to all my needs. The room was dated, but clean and the large mini fridge big enough for a week of food and drinks. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was fantastic. It is a no frills motel that has the most stunning view of the ocean. I will be back next year! plus it has great parking, the shuttle stops every 25 minutes into town, and you can bring your dog. Tell them Kevin with the bad foot sent you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Checked in...carpeted floor was wet, not wet from kids feet at the beach wet, but dumped a mop bucket wet. The room smelled of urine and mold. The a/c did not work at all. There was bloody finger prints on the wall. Very dated. Wi-Fi only available at the front office with the written rule "no downloading." Positives to be fair----clean linens, great location, a view. I constantly travel for business- this is the second worst place I have ever stayed in probably over 350 hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just stayed at the Breakwater in P Town for the weekend and calling it a dump is putting it mildly. I travel extensively and have stayed at no less than 500 hotels/motels over my lifetime and this one was easily the worst. The entire facility is outdated and old. I guarantee the décor, furnishings, bedspreads, carpet, etc, are the original ones from when this place was constructed. Housekeeping knocked off by noon so our room wasn't even cleaned. Sadly enough, it was as pricey as other, much nicer places. I strongly advise NOT booking a room here.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Terribly overpriced for what you get. Lumpy bed, dirty carpet (your feet get black walking inside), locker room smell, weak A/C, ran out of hot water in the shower. At least the bus comes by, as the hotel is on the outskirts of town and not within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Lazare, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at this motel with my Newf mix atleast 6 times. The staff is friendly the rooms are clean (dated) and cleaned daily, the location in my opinion can not be beat with the dog friendly beach in front of the hotel and the center of Ptown only a 30 minute walk away. Also this is the least expensive animal friendly place I have found in Ptown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Staying off season , mid september, you can't beat the price of $65 a night. Room # 1 at the back, had parking lot view. Wi-fi was good. Small room but clean, no frills. Kind of far from center of town, but quick bike ride. Quiet room. "Beach" across street was a joke. Motel next door has restaurant, lounge, movie night and $6.95 continental b'kfast, if you want skip going into town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

In some locations a motel like this would be an average value. In Provincetown it is an excellent value. In addition this motel has a very strong assett. Susie, one of the owners who works the front desk, is the friendliest and most helpful motel staff person I have met. She made us feel welcome. She was a good resource for the area. She significantly improved the quality of our experience. The room was fine for our family of 4. I don't recall any problems. The internet and air conditioning worked fine. The room smelled OK. The beach across the road was fun for beachcombing. We walked into town both days. One day we took a taxi home. They let us leave our car in the parking lot after we checked out for one final visit into Provincetown. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 716 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Hotel Provincetown
Breakwater Motel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakwater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.