We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view with a nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masthead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Masthead Resort to your Saves list
Masthead Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   31-41 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“amazing view with a nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and were very impressed with the Masthead. Its in the west end near the boat ramp. The grounds are beautiful and its a very large property. We stayed in a room with a beautiful water view and it had a very comfortable queen bed, couch and basic bathroom. The rooms are not high end in furnishings but with that view who cares about that stuff. The staff is very friendly. Its about a 10 minute walk to the center of town. I def will be back....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    5
    10
    13
See reviews for
25
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed the weekend of October 12, 2013. Although we have been to Provincetown many times, we have never stayed at the Masthead. What a delightful surprise! The Masthead offers all the charm of what Provincetown means to us. Great location, accommodations and service. We recommend the Masthead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grosse pointe farms
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

dont believe the pictures on line the location is great our room was clean but it was a dump , like something from 1954, and we payed top buck. They make you book for 2 days because once you see the room you will want to leave. if you do leave they charge you a 20% cancellation fee . they do that even if you cancel 3 weeks in advance.[they take you hostage.] they close the office at night and put a note on the door not to bother them until 10 the next morning. A much better choice is the RED INN or LANDS END a few doors down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed in Cottage 33, a converted boat house, usually for a week in early October, for 16 times. We missed 2012 but returned the last week in September 2013. It was a joy to find thoughtful changes in the Cottage, with the grounds and harborside deck in perfect shape.Valerie Ciluzzi's creative flower plantings were found unfailingly to delight. Detailed care by manager Wendy and assistant Steven was evident. As for location, it is perfect for enjoying from spectular sunrise to night, the ever changing tides, migrating birds in fall, and harbor life. A place peacefully to reflect and enjoy being human and alive. We enjoyed our stay even better than the first. We hope to return again in 2014. The Masthead is the gift of hands-on labor of love over 54 years of WWII 10th Mountain Division veteran, founder-owner John J. Ciluzzi, now 88. Thousands of us who have enjoyed our stay there owe him, his family, and workers a debt of gratitude..

Glenn and Glenda Paige
Honolulu

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were 6 and booked last minute, so we settled. We had a house called "The Robert" and it was literally 100 years old and everything was dated (and some moldy). Location in Ptown is great because it's just a little bit away from all the noise but an easy walk to the action. It's also direct on the beach. I'm pretty sure it was the most "cheap" place I've ever stayed at (except it was super expensive). Anyway they should tear it down and build all-new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very convenient location... A quiet part of ptown.. A short walk to the center of it all.
We stayed in one of the efficiencies which had a small kitchen with a small fridge, dishes, utensils, etc which was very convenient.
The deck is right on the water where you can enjoy the gorgeous sunrise.
The staff is exceptional and right on point.. We arrived early in the morning to try to beat the traffic. Although check in wasn't until 4, we were told to call and check periodically to see if it was ready earlier. The receptionist took that extra step and ended up calling me to let me know our room was ready which was awesome.
My only "complaint" is that the mattress was not very comfortable.. But I acknowledge it could just be not what i am used to. Other than that, immaculate and worth checking out .. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you seek a lovely inn on the harbor, convenient to Provincetown but quietly removed from the bustle, look no further. My wife and I have stayed at The Masthead twice, and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times. The rooms open onto a private deck with access to the harbor, and restaurants and shops are just a few blocks down the road. It is also convenient to The Red Inn, our favorite restaurant in town. With comfortable rooms and an accommodating staff, we hope to return for many years to come.

Room Tip: Pick your favorite room from the description - all are pictured and described accurately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Masthead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masthead Resort

Address: 31-41 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masthead Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masthead offers distinctive accommodations in an authentic Cape Cod setting. 450 Foot Private Beach. Sun Deck On The Water, Boardwalk, Spacious Lawns, Beautifully Landscaped Grounds, Comfortable Lounging Chairs, Central Heat, Within walking distance of fine restaurants, coffee shops and center of Town. The restful beauty and quiet of our grounds and lovely gardens bordering the boardwalk and sundeck provide a favorite rendezvous for guests who lounge and enjoy the beautiful vista of Provincetown Bay and miles of ever-changing Cape scenery. The Bay is a haven for sailing and water-skiing. Golf & tennis are nearby. Art classes and Art galleries are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Masthead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masthead Hotel Provincetown
Masthead Motel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masthead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.