We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Hotel Provincetown to your Saves list
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Dobbs Ferry, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were unable to stay in our usual rental, as the property was freezing and dark, due to a power outage caused by a wind storm. I called Harbor Hotel, as it was close by. I was told they were closing the front desk in 10 minutes, but they would wait for us to get there. We were given a very nice clean, warm, attractive room. We were very pleased to stay here. There even is a breakfast included in the reasonable price. We recommend Harbor Hotel to anyone looking for a decent and affordable place to stay in Provincetown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, we’re always willing to do what we can to provide our guests with an exemplary experience. Every person who walks through our doors is important to us and it’s wonderful that we were able to make up for an unfortunate situation that occurred at another hotel. We’re thrilled that we were able to keep you cozy during your time with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience! Come visit us again the next time you’re in Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    140
    87
    35
    25
See reviews for
101
148
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

On our first night at P'town Thanksgiving week, the resort we were booked at lost power. The Harbor was closest nearby and we were glad to get a room. Very pleased with the accommodations! Spacious well maintained room, comfortable beds, nicely set up bathroom with an excellent shower. We're happy to have discovered the Harbor and will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Breakfast included - a nice added bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We’re glad that the Harbor Hotel Provincetown was able to save the day! It’s great that our accommodations and complimentary deluxe continental breakfast exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel! We hope that you’ll come see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel was nice, nothing fancy, but the rooms were good size and they have very comfy beds. You can walk into town in about 20 minutes. We walked along the beach. Very fun. They have a nice bar and outside a fire pit. Nice place to hang out with friends. We were there the first part of Nov. and got such a great deal on our rooms. The rooms were the price of whatever the temp was at 2:00 that day. We got our room for $59. What a deal. You have to ask for this deal when you book the room. So overall a nice stay for a great price. They do have rooms that look out over the water but we did not get one of those rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get one with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Sitting by a fire on the beach is the perfect way to spend an autumn evening. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! We’re glad that you experienced rest and relaxation on your fall getaway with us. It would be a pleasure to have you back soon!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the harbor hotel in Provincetown. Check in and check out were a breeze and the staff was great (Tom and Ken assisted my party and I) Unfortunately I did not have time to use all of the hotel’s facilities such as the pool, but the beach was nice and the room was adequate. My only tip would be for the management would be to perhaps review the cleaning staff’s schedule. My room was not cleaned because the cleaning staff arrived at my room at about 4:00 at which time I needed the room to get ready to go out that evening. It wasn’t an issue that the room was not cleaned as we requested that they skip it, we did however need new towels which we requested the following morning. The rates are reasonable and if I travel to Ptown again, I would certainly consider staying at the Harbor Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re pleased to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, you’ll be able to visit us again and take advantage of all of the amenities we offer, such as our beach fire pit and large pool! We apologize for the lateness of our housekeeping staff and we will definitely share your feedback with them.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just completed three wonderful days at the Harbor Hotel for a small self-led retreat. Michael and his staff were always there for helpful suggestions and provided us everything that we needed to make our group feel welcome. We were able to bring in food (restaurant was closed due to off-season) which made our time there seem like we had the whole place to ourselves. The main hospitality suite was ample for our group and we also used the lounge from time to time during the afternoon. The continental breakfast was simple, and the location just across from the bay was ideal for our retreat which focused on the Ocean and waters surrounding Provincetown. We would recommend this hotel for another future event.

Room Tip: The bayfront rooms are not available during the colder months. The hotel is closing in December for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
The beach is such a peaceful place to be, especially during the fall. It’s great that you had a pleasant and successful retreat with us at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re happy to hear that all the staff members you encountered during your time with us were helpful and hospitable. Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel; it would be a pleasure to work with you again on your next event.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great location, rooms were very comfortable, and staff welcoming. Quite a crowd for off season, but the staff handled them well. They are a little inconsistent with their breakfast as at first we were told there would be no breakfast, and then that we would have a continental. The breakfast served in general had a good selection, but there were no protein selections which would make it difficult for someone watching their weight or a diabetic. So that would be my only suggestion is to add something like hard boiled eggs if they are going to offer breakfast. That is minor however and would not prevent me from staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It’s great that our prime location and accommodations met your expectations! Our complimentary continental breakfast is often a favorite among our guests; we do have fresh fruit and other offerings for those with dietary restrictions and we occasionally offer eggs as well. Thank you for your review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed nights of Oct 2-3 together with friends who stayed in a different room.

We found the location of the hotel great being just across the road from the beach and within easy walking distance of Provinceton and great having a pool which unfortunately had been closed for the season. The room was a good size, bed comfortable and bathroom good.
Also when we couldn’t get our TV to work and called the front desk someone came quickly to resolve the problem.

On the negative side, the vinyl covered floor was so dirty (not noticeable just looking at it and until later in the night) that after taking a few steps with bare feet the soles of our feet became almost black.
Also not all used shampoo, coffee etc was replaced on the second day.
Our friends did not have any towels on the first night.

When departing on Oct 4 we brought this matter to the attention of the front desk and all they could say was “you should have called the front desk and those matters would have been fixed” (no apologies) but who wants to be moved to a different room late at night after having unpacked their bags?
The staff didn’t seem very interested and when I mentioned that perhaps I should make a report on Tripadvisor the reply was “oh management will reply to that”.

I know that management will most likely reply to this and attempt to smooth things over but the fact remains that on review of previous posts here, other travellers in the past have reported the same/similar experiences. Doesn’t management care?

Room Tip: Rooms at rear may be quieter in busy times as they do not face the road. Request a ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Although we’re glad that our prime location was a highlight of your stay, we wish that other aspects were positive as well. We’re sorry that your experience with us was not everything it should have been. Our facility is dedicated to making greener choices to help our environment, which is why our flooring is made out of sustainable cement. We’re always happy to bring you more toiletries when you need them and we wish that you had reached out to us before you checked out. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you’ll consider visiting us again so that we can show you the stay that you deserve.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new name. A new look. Under new ownership and management, the Harbor Hotel Provincetown (formerly the Cape Inn Resort) has meticulously and extensively renovated our facility for the sleek and stylish ambiance you come to expect of a Cape Cod National SeaShore hotel. Please join us as we welcome the 2011 Season with a fresh, new look and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Hotel Provincetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.