We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful site for Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Save Saved
You added Harbor Hotel Provincetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Provincetown
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful site for Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just completed three wonderful days at the Harbor Hotel for a small self-led retreat. Michael and his staff were always there for helpful suggestions and provided us everything that we needed to make our group feel welcome. We were able to bring in food (restaurant was closed due to off-season) which made our time there seem like we had the whole place to ourselves. The main hospitality suite was ample for our group and we also used the lounge from time to time during the afternoon. The continental breakfast was simple, and the location just across from the bay was ideal for our retreat which focused on the Ocean and waters surrounding Provincetown. We would recommend this hotel for another future event.

Room Tip: The bayfront rooms are not available during the colder months. The hotel is closing in December for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
The beach is such a peaceful place to be, especially during the fall. It’s great that you had a pleasant and successful retreat with us at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re happy to hear that all the staff members you encountered during your time with us were helpful and hospitable. Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel; it would be a pleasure to work with you again on your next event.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    128
    75
    31
    23
See reviews for
91
134
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, mo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great location, rooms were very comfortable, and staff welcoming. Quite a crowd for off season, but the staff handled them well. They are a little inconsistent with their breakfast as at first we were told there would be no breakfast, and then that we would have a continental. The breakfast served in general had a good selection, but there were no protein selections which would make it difficult for someone watching their weight or a diabetic. So that would be my only suggestion is to add something like hard boiled eggs if they are going to offer breakfast. That is minor however and would not prevent me from staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It’s great that our prime location and accommodations met your expectations! Our complimentary continental breakfast is often a favorite among our guests; we do have fresh fruit and other offerings for those with dietary restrictions and we occasionally offer eggs as well. Thank you for your review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed nights of Oct 2-3 together with friends who stayed in a different room.

We found the location of the hotel great being just across the road from the beach and within easy walking distance of Provinceton and great having a pool which unfortunately had been closed for the season. The room was a good size, bed comfortable and bathroom good.
Also when we couldn’t get our TV to work and called the front desk someone came quickly to resolve the problem.

On the negative side, the vinyl covered floor was so dirty (not noticeable just looking at it and until later in the night) that after taking a few steps with bare feet the soles of our feet became almost black.
Also not all used shampoo, coffee etc was replaced on the second day.
Our friends did not have any towels on the first night.

When departing on Oct 4 we brought this matter to the attention of the front desk and all they could say was “you should have called the front desk and those matters would have been fixed” (no apologies) but who wants to be moved to a different room late at night after having unpacked their bags?
The staff didn’t seem very interested and when I mentioned that perhaps I should make a report on Tripadvisor the reply was “oh management will reply to that”.

I know that management will most likely reply to this and attempt to smooth things over but the fact remains that on review of previous posts here, other travellers in the past have reported the same/similar experiences. Doesn’t management care?

Room Tip: Rooms at rear may be quieter in busy times as they do not face the road. Request a ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Although we’re glad that our prime location was a highlight of your stay, we wish that other aspects were positive as well. We’re sorry that your experience with us was not everything it should have been. Our facility is dedicated to making greener choices to help our environment, which is why our flooring is made out of sustainable cement. We’re always happy to bring you more toiletries when you need them and we wish that you had reached out to us before you checked out. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you’ll consider visiting us again so that we can show you the stay that you deserve.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked and paid for this hotel online. After driving hours into the middle of nowhere we finally arrived just after 10 pm. We were shocked to find out they had a closed sign on the door with a phone number to call. We called the number and it just rang to an answering machine. We ended up having to drive for hours back to the civilization and stayed in a days-inn. They should really warn people when they book the hotel that they are unstaffed at night.

This was especially disappointing as we were excited to check out the area in the morning.

We were able to get a refund but that hardly satisfies the experience we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
When visitors share their concerns with us, we take them very seriously. We sincerely apologize about the experience you had with us; we will definitely take your suggestions into consideration. Your comments will be shared with our entire management team to review your feedback and gain a better understanding of what happened. Our check-in time is at 3pm and we honor late check-ins when they are requested. We wish that our attempt to make things right with you led to a resolution and we hope that you’ll consider giving us another chance. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and got the fourth free. BONUS!! We were also here the end of womens week. When we checked in, I first met Armand. What a great guy to see when you first walk in the door...great smile and attitude. We stayed at rear of hotel in the pet friendly rooms, because we werent planning on spending much time in our room. It was perfect. The beds were comfy, the pillows were nice, the carpets were clean and nice. We did not want room service while we were there, but the housekeepers always made sure we had fresh towels and told us to just put out trash outside the door, and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. I loved the place and will definately be back. Thanks for helping make our much needed vacation better. Signed, a devoted and loyal guest =)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Your warm words for the Harbor Hotel Provincetown are greatly appreciated! Providing excellent service is very important to us and we’re happy to hear that our staff was very kind and accommodating. We can’t wait to see you again and we thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland VT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the third year my friend and I have stayed at the Harbor Hotel and we really have no complaints:) we love the location easy to bike to town. The fire pit is wonderful. The continental breakfast has improved each time we have been back. The staff is friendly and helpful, some if whom recall who we are when we come back. Armond and Keith are a great new addition to the staff. Keith has a fun bubbly personality which makes for a great bartender. Armond a great front desk guy with warm friendly personality. We will return for sure:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
As a frequent guest, we’re ecstatic to learn that your stays with us have consistently been exceptional! Your compliments for our staff members are greatly appreciated and we will certainly share them with the employees that you specifically mentioned. Riding along the beach and relaxing by a fire are both great ways to spend time at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is just outside of town, the staff was very friendly and helpful however, the motel itself is old. Cold cement floors, no carpeting, pegs on the walls to hang clothing, very sparsely furnished. Although everything worked and was clean, I would not return to this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
While we’re glad that the service you received met your expectations, we’re disappointed to discover that our accommodations fell short of your needs. Our rooms have cement flooring because it’s one of the most allergy-friendly flooring options available. We hope that you’ll reconsider and give our hotel another chance; we’re sure that your next stay with us will be much-improved.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new name. A new look. Under new ownership and management, the Harbor Hotel Provincetown (formerly the Cape Inn Resort) has meticulously and extensively renovated our facility for the sleek and stylish ambiance you come to expect of a Cape Cod National SeaShore hotel. Please join us as we welcome the 2011 Season with a fresh, new look and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Hotel Provincetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.