We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist retreat Ptown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Hotel Provincetown to your Saves list
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Minimalist retreat Ptown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visiting PTOWN is not always so easy. Few "hotels exist" and bed and breakfast places seem to litter the landscape. This hotel is about ten-fifteen mins from the center of ptown either by bike or walking. The was an old 60's hotel that was renovated and put back on the road with alot of love and attention. Rooms seems very spartan and bathrooms are very small and basic. The rooms are basically minimalist in nature-- not many frills-- good airconditioning. The highlight of the hotel was a nice pool ( one of the few in PTown) and fire pit, which seems to draw a lot of attention in the evenings.

One of the surprises of the trip was management renting out the pool during our stay to another party. While this acceptable, management should have warned guests prior to the exclusive party, not 30 mins before.

While management needs to rethink some of their strategies, the staff was on the whole very pleasant and attentive to guests.

Pros
Nice pool
close to ptown
free bike rental
extensive parking/ free
near water
bar in hotel at night/ sometimes with live music

cons
slow to clean rooms
management needs to better notify guest of impending events
bathrooms/showers need an update- very small overall

I would return, but I hope the hotel continues to receive upgrades of the facilities. This old holiday inn has good bones, just needs more capital!

Room Tip: If you like looking at the pool, take a courtyard room, if you need a water view, ask for the seasid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
The detailed feedback you’ve provided us on your recent stay is greatly appreciated. We do apologize that the notification you received in regards to our pool closure was very abrupt and we will certainly look into a better way of informing our guests of events. We’re pleased to hear that your accommodations were comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer. It would be our pleasure to have you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    143
    87
    35
    25
See reviews for
103
150
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Hotel is in a fantastic location for Provincetown. It is about a mile walk to the center excitement on Commercial Street.

The Hotel is a converted motel. It is updated with a retro 60's decor. It is comfortable and very welcoming. The pool was perfect for all day enjoyment. In the evening you have a firepit, as well as pool table for family enjoyment.

It is located directly across from the water. Views to the downtown area are exceptional.

Continental breakfast in the morning consists of bagels, english muffins, french toast, omelets, coffee and assorted cereals and juices. You can enjoy them on the outdoor patio seating and comfortable couches on the veranda.

We will be back to enjoy the Harbor Hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Having breakfast on our patio with the sun shining must have been such a pleasant way to start your day! We’re thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay. Making a splash in our pool is always a fun way to spend time at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. Your review is greatly appreciated by us and we hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

overpriced, terrible customer service, consistent 1 hour delays at checkin with attitude and no apologies...

inferior towels sheets and pillows..

only redeeming factor was free breakfast...

overall not worth it at any price

will never return or recommend that anyone ever consider staying here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Although we’re glad you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, we’re very disappointed to learn that your stay fell short of expectations. Our staff is usually praised for delivering a high level of service and your stay was clearly out of character for us. Please reconsider and allow us to provide you with a stay that is above the rest. Thank you for sharing your perspective with us.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here one night. The hotel is an older one but has been redone very nicely. Great location right across the street from the water. At low tide you walk out on the sandbars. Great for kids. They also have a nice pool. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. They also serve a free breakfast of bagels, toast, cereal, coffee, juice. The fruit salad was either old or previously frozen and was not good but thats the only negative thing we found.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Walking the beach is always a relaxing way to spend time with your family. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having your group as guests at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! We hope to see you again on your next trip to P-town. Thank you for your review.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just checked in and was stuck way in the back in 403. Not comparable to the room my daughter stayed in last week. Icky carpet and sketchy hall. Dingy old style hotel that had the sense to hire a decorator- modern IKEA style furnishings. Called to see if we could move to the front w a view of water and fire pits and told I'd have to pay $100+ up charge per night. Actually paying a little more than my daughter paid for the front rooms last week. They didn't say they were full when I asked, they said we'd have to pay more. As there is space, the proper customer service standard would have been to keep us happy and therefore return. This place is icky. I won't return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We’re disappointed that your recent stay with us was not a positive one. We would like to point out that our rates vary by day and by room type. We regret that you were not made aware of this and that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope that you will consider returning so that we can provide you a much improved stay.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked 3 separate bookings because kept changing the dates for our trip so we ended up with 3 different reservations which they could not combine. Fine we will work with that. Then went to check in a 2 pm when check in time was 3pm. I have never not been able to check in early anywhere. But we we arrived they told us we needed to wait for an hour. Okay 3pm is 3pm. So came back at 3pm and they told us our room still not ready. We waited another hour to check in. When we checked in our floor was filthy. So dirty that when you put the show towel down on the floor in bathroom it turned gray from the dirt. Then tried to get new towels the next day and they were out and never bought us new towels. We are paying over $300.00 a night. It is crazy worst experience of my life.

Room Tip: There aren't any so my advice skip this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It’s unfortunate to hear that your visit was not everything it should have been. Usually we’re able to accommodate our guests in a reasonable amount of time and we apologize that we were unable to do so with you and that your room did not meet your standards after you arrived. Our guests’ comments really matter to us, so we will be sure to share yours with our housekeeping staff. We hope that we will one day have the opportunity to provide you the stay that you deserve.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We love this hotel! For us , it's perfect. Clean , modern , cheerful - roomy enough - a great place for families traveling together. We are a family of 4 staying in a suite - plenty of room for everyone - fridge .. Bathrooms are small but so what?! Every staff person has greeted us with a smile- and no request is too much. Proximity to p town is perfect- room to breathe - lovely pool ..super convenient bus to town every 30 minutes.
The equation 1+1 = 3 comes to mind. It's not perfect, but you add it all together and it is - perfect. For families - people traveling with pets - in our opinion , you could not have a nicer opportunity close to Provincetown center and the beaches. We plan to come back !!

Room Tip: The suites pool side are wonderful --IMO
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Spending time in the pool and in town must have been a lot of fun! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. It’s great that we were able to keep your whole family comfortable and happy! We’re looking forward to seeing you on your next trip!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new name. A new look. Under new ownership and management, the Harbor Hotel Provincetown (formerly the Cape Inn Resort) has meticulously and extensively renovated our facility for the sleek and stylish ambiance you come to expect of a Cape Cod National SeaShore hotel. Please join us as we welcome the 2011 Season with a fresh, new look and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Hotel Provincetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.