We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor Hotel, PTOWN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Hotel Provincetown to your Saves list
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Harbor Hotel, PTOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The remodel of this old style motel was very well done. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room faced the bay which was lovely to look at. It is a drive up motel so the parking lot/road detract somewhat. The public spaces are basic but nice and clean. The breakfast was included (cold and hot dishes). We lunch at the pool bar which was delightful. The value seemed about right for a resort town. It is conveniently right on the bus line which runs every 1/2 hour and cost $2 ($1 for 60+ years of age). Nice little area for seating and a fire pit on the bay side as well.

Room Tip: Bay side is also road side but it quieter than pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H4-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear that you had an excellent stay overall. Our Cabana Bar is a great place to kick back and enjoy a bite to eat, especially with all of this sunshine and warm weather we’ve been having lately! We hope you’ll visit us again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown; your compliments are greatly appreciated by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend. We extended our stay and moved from a hotel in Truro to the Harbor hotel. We found a great last minute deal on price line. The room was great nice and clean the beds were very comfortable. The location is perfect right at the start of popular commercial st. We walked into town via the beach at low tide and were able to walk the sandbar all the way into town. The original price of the room was slightly pricey but the price line deal was great. I would stay here again. Great complimentary breakfast as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We’re thrilled to hear that you chose our hotel to extend your vacation and that we were able to exceed your expectations. It must have been really lovely to walk the beach into town especially with all the great weather we’ve been having lately. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re looking forward to seeing you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I am so disappointed with my one night stay here. The website makes the hotel look lovely. The staff were so rude. For American customer service I was so surprised at how rude they were. So unfriendly and they obviously didn't want to be there. The room had the cheapest furniture and it was so dirty! The carpet was covered in stains and there was a horrible smell. The colours were bright and from a distance you could think they have renovated the rooms to look nice and modern however when you look closer u can see black marks all over the walls and dirty blinds and windows. Horrible dirty patio furniture and the walls were so thin you could here everything. The corridor up to the rooms were very dirty and loud. The hotel is situated next to another grotty motel with very suspicious looking people and rubbish everywhere. The breakfast was very basic. Just cereal. Juice and bagels. The lobby and breakfast area are very nice and actually look like the website photos unlike the rooms! The staff again were so rude. They all stood about talking, not even a good morning or take a seat. You just had to help yourself. The view from the front of the hotel is lovely. Very disappointed. Very very poor value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceygibson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, Managing Partner at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest of Harbor Hotel,

I am the Managing Partner for the Harbor Hotel. Our General Manager usually responds to guest comments and reviews, but yours is so upsetting to me that I want to respond personally. I am truly unhappy about your experience…we are better than your experience would suggest, and I am sorry we did not fully understand during your visit so that we could have tried to make your stay a better one. Ordinarily we receive compliments about how wonderful our service is, so I will personally try to understand who was not hospitable. I also do not understand the lack of cleanliness, and will personally visit the hotel within the next few days to see for myself. Please contact our General Manager directly so that we may try to make this right for you.


Sincerely,

Gary Avigne

Managing Partner
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked late, and all the inns & B & B's recommended by friends and closer to the center of town were booked. I took a chance on the Harbor Hotel. First. The nightly rate is easy on the pocket.
The staff is friendly and helpful. My room was on the front with a nice view of the water. The mattress, sheets, pillows, and towels were good. The hotel was once a motel that was probably built in the 50's. It has been totally redone in a very tasteful way. The walk to the center of town is about 20 minutes or a $6.00 taxi ride. Everything about my stay was very pleasant. I would stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floorroom facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It’s our pleasure to accommodate our guests to the fullest extent, and we’re happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable room during a busy time of the year. Knowing that we exceeded your expectations is always wonderful to hear and your compliments for the Harbor Hotel Provincetown are greatly appreciated. We hope that you’ll be able to visit us again soon. Should you return, we would like to also let you know that we have bicycles available for rent for a leisurely ride into town. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel staff professional, courteous and helpful. Guest room clean and updated. Located just outside of Commercial Street district but easy access. Hotel provided evening entertainment and continental breakfast which was satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, our goal is to provide guests a fun getaway with a high level of service. Judging by your comments, it seems like we’ve accomplished both with you! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you’ll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Freetown, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just completed 5 days. Staff was great, very accommodating. Room was clean, bay view very very nice to wake up to. Pool was nice. Swimming in the bay accross the street was great. Water was warm enough to swim. The location was great. Shuttle available daily on a regular schedule to get to town. But during the week, parking in town was available. continental breadfast was typical, ok, but once and a while I would have enjoyed eggs, sausage, bacon, etc.
I can't complain though, I was up early daily and coffee was available before breakfast set up.
coin op laundry was VERY nice to wash bathing suits, towels, etc. It would have been more helpful to have basic information written on a Welcome sheet in the room, which would include
the "hours of breakfast, pool bar, hotel bar, restaurant", note towels in pool area when you go in.
also washer & dryer availabilty and cost ($1.50 ea). Oh, and leave detailed instructions about the tv. It was a bit of a hassle, getting it to on on sometimes. But staff took care of ALL issues promptly. Room was refreshed daily, very neatly. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Bay view room added a wonderful feeling to the vacation, that is waking up to a gorgeous view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It’s great that our amenities and prime location by the beach and near town really added to your vacation! Thank you very much for your review; the feedback you’ve provided us is excellent and we will definitely take your suggestions into consideration. We’d love to have you at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We, 2 adults and 1 child, stayed at Harbor Hotel on the 4th of July! We decided the next day to stay another night because we thought the location, and the Hotel were awesome. The pool area was great, with a bar and grill poolside. Across the street is the ocean with a private beach area.
Huge parking area. Bus stop right in front of hotel going to town center or drive 2 minutes to the center and park on the wharf. Look, if you want to get away I recommend checking this place out. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be their washers/dryers work overtime and they may benefit from a new system. When I went looking for someone to get extra towels for our room, she was extremely kind and apologetic for their machines not keeping up. Like I said, Look, if you want to get away--you overlook the small stuff. You're there to sleep--which the bed was more comfortable then mine at home...and wash--which the bathroom was clean. The AC worked w-o-n-d-e-r-f-u-l :-) The weekend of the 4th was in the 90's. Long review but I wanted it to be real. Get away. Go here. Have fun.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean side, but if not available we had 1st floor access from the parking lot and we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCustomer311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much that you stayed an extra night! We love knowing that guests of all ages had a great time taking advantage of the many things we have to offer. It is our pleasure to keep you comfortable no matter what the weather brings and we hope you’ll come visit the Harbor Hotel Provincetown again soon! Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 13 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#11 of 13 in Provincetown
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Seaglass Inn & Spa
The Seaglass Inn & Spa
#2 of 13 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.6 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing