We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Hotel Provincetown to your Saves list
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a tough time trying to make a reservations and was told that they would charge my credit card on the same day as made reservation and originally quoted one Price but once we arrived we had a different amount charged. We are not expecting to pay at check in since they took my credit card number of the phone and said they were charging that day ??? Never got sent a confirmation letter, the room was ok but had a bad odor mostly coming from the bathroom, my husband and I went to the grocery store to get an air freshener to try and make it a little more tolerable. There were Stains on the bathroom counter seemed as though it had been there for a long time. Wouldn't stay there again !

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We do apologize if there was any confusion as to when you would be charged for your room. When reserving a room, your credit card is only used to guarantee your reservation and nothing is charged until you have checked in to the hotel. It is also disappointing to learn that your accommodations were not as you had expected and our housekeeping team will be alerted as to the issues you encountered. Thank you for reaching out to us and we can assure you that this is not the experience that we hope to extend to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    177
    106
    42
    36
See reviews for
133
187
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights while visiting family. Our room which faced the bay was absolutely immaculate! The bathroom was spotless as well as the beds, and floors. The staff were pleasant, friendly, and accommodating. Don't let the outside fool you; inside you will find a fresh new lobby, restaurant and bar. The first day after traveling we just wanted to relax and unwind. We went down to the restaurant and enjoyed a wonderful meal with a glass of wine. Some local people were there; a very good sign of the quality of the food. The beds were comfortable, pillows were soft. What we loved about the Harbor Hotel was that it was just outside the busy and crowded Commercial Street district. The outside fire pit was a welcome beacon after a long day. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor on the bay side offers a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We’re thrilled to hear that your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown was so enjoyable and we hope your visit with family was too! Our fire-pit area is such a welcoming place in the evening to get together with friends or even make new ones, and our quiet location gives our guests just the break they need after a busy day. We look forward to your next visit with us and we hope that it’s very soon. Thank you for your amazing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the back building, one entrance had boards on the window and door. The hallways are very creepy, not very clean. The room we stayed in the carpet was stained in alot of places. It seemed to be an updated room. The carpet could not have been vacuumed before we arrived because there were papers on the floor.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you pay for it in the event you just stop there to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us in regard to your recent stay at our hotel. Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned will be addressed with the proper staff members, as it is our goal to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. It would have been our pleasure to address any of your concerns during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back and fully impress you with everything we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just got back from our 2nd stay! Excellent service, fabulous food and great music! Everyone is extremely friendly. The restaurant and lounge is very relaxing and the service is great. The rooms were clean. The view is great. We stayed in the back building and still had a view of the ocean. We will be back again for a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome back return guests of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! Our location by the beach, comfortable accommodations and relaxing views of the water make our hotel the perfect place to stay when visiting P-town. We’d look forward to welcoming you back again and again and we thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Corners
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a very nice 2 night stay. The front desk clerk Peter was extremely helpful and friendly.
Our pet was welcome with open arms. We enjoyed a Friday night Fish Fry in their A joining restaurant which was very good also. Would stay with them again. My only negative was that we only had 1 wash cloth in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We love hearing that our guests, including our canine friends, fully enjoyed their stay with us and your kind acknowledgement of our staff is sincerely appreciated. Please don’t hesitate during your next stay to reach out to us if there is anything you need. We do apologize for the oversight in the amount of wash cloths supplied in your bathroom. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great time with our golden retriever there, he swam and played on the beach across the street multiple times a day. Wish they had a outside hose to wash the dog down with but that is the only complain. We went to eat and hung out downtown twice a day, so we spent a ton on parking...we took the dog with us so we had to drive but that was our choice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We love hearing that our four-legged friends have just as much fun while here as our guests do! It sounds like you had an exciting opportunity to enjoy P-town and we’re thrilled that you chose the Harbor Hotel at Provincetown as your hotel of choice. Your suggestion is absolutely appreciated and we will take it into consideration. We look forward to welcoming all of you back for another exceptional stay very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel was nice. Nothing fancy or special. But it suited us fine and was very reasonably priced. The room was clean, spacious, and met our needs just fine. The room was freezing when we entered it, so Im guessing it hadnt been used in a while. But the heat came on quickly and was fine. The front desk staff was very nice and answered all our questions very politely.
The hotel is immediately off the highway, but not right in the downtown strip. It is more than a walk from town, so thankfully we had a car. It was less than 1 mile to restaurants/shops. It is literally on the water tho! That was a huge bonus and quite a gorgeous sight.
At night there was a live band in the bar off the lobby. The band was Excellent! Very talented and put on a great show. The bar was slow as it was the off-seaon, but it was still a good time.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to go into such detail about your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re glad to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and were treated well by our staff. Many of our guests enjoy the live entertainment provided and we’re thrilled that you had the opportunity to relax a bit and enjoy. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to the area and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 13 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#12 of 13 in Provincetown
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new name. A new look. Under new ownership and management, the Harbor Hotel Provincetown (formerly the Cape Inn Resort) has meticulously and extensively renovated our facility for the sleek and stylish ambiance you come to expect of a Cape Cod National SeaShore hotel. Please join us as we welcome the 2011 Season with a fresh, new look and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Hotel Provincetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.