We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firmitatis utilitatis venustatis … Strength, convenience and delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa to your Saves list
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
12 - 14 Johnson Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Spa Escape
Ranked #2 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Firmitatis utilitatis venustatis … Strength, convenience and delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This guesthouse is brilliant; set out more like private bungaloes in a garden than a classic inn but providing the comfort, beauty and friendship of the best inns. The garden is small but cleverly designed in "rooms" which allow for cozy conversations or a quiet place to read; the staff are lovely & helpful staff; the rooms distinctively furnished and comfortable with audio and video equipment as well as coffee and tea makers; distinctive, filling breakfasts made "almost in your own kitchen" by one Jurgen, one of the owners; and there is a wonderfully convivial daily wine & cheese hour. Carpe Diem scores 100% on these "basics" but adds to it a spa with superlative massage therapists (and I promise you they are the highest standard) with placid atmosphere and pampering amenities. All 'round you get the most wonderful mix of madcap, sexy, big hug Ptown and the charm and attention of a fine country house - all delightfully unpretentious and casual. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We have a particular preference for the James Baldwin room for its privacy on the second floor (firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    34
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
501
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hello ,

Just quick review regarding our stay in Carpe Diem Guesthouse ....... We stayed 2 nights between 10/10/2013 and 12/10/2013 in the Ruan Ji Room and we had a stunning stay in provincetown because of this place ...... We needed a 2 days break after a flight from France and to be honest we could not imagine better place to refill our battery ..... the house is beautiful and all has been restored respecting the original building .... the little garden surrounded by all the rooms is arranged with all type of vegetation giving really a cosy environment to relax ,read or listen music ...... the Spa is one of the main attraction of this place typical and inspired by countries that are used to buiild those type of places .... the cleaning is perfect all is supervised in details by the great team managing and owning this guesthouse ...... those people bring more than just giving keys when arriving and presenting the bill at the end of your stay ...... it is a warm welcome during all your stay with time in the day were you can share a discussion with all the host like the unforgettable breakfast and the wine and cheese afternoon rendez-vous ....... thanks a lot for this unique moment .....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I cannot say enough about the people who run and work at this beautiful place. From the moment you arrive, when they greet you like a long-lost friend, through delicious breakfast and lovely, lazy spa time, you are treated to the utmost in hospitality. Forgot to book a dinner reservation? It's done. Need a cup of tea 'round the clock? There are at least 20 choices, with properly boiled water and teapots. Coffee? State of the art espresso machine. Wine and cheese at 5 pm, of course. Need to detox from partying last night? Gorgeous steam room and hot tub/garden and SUPERB spa treatments and massages. The convivial atmosphere allows guests to chat and laugh and get to know each other OR chill in peace....it's your choice. Rooms are pretty and clean and very comfortable, but the courtyard and spa are where you truly want to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This by far exceeded my expectations. We stayed there only 1 night to celebrate our first anniversary, and were treated so well. There was a lovely note on our bed wishing us a happy anniversary which was such a sweet surprise. The little touches here mean so much, like the dark colored washcloth provided for makeup. We stayed in the William Shakespeare room, which was so cozy and comfortable and beautifully appointed. The wine hour was most enjoyable and we so enjoyed meeting and chatting with the other guest. The courtyard was so peaceful and relaxing. We didn't want to leave. The next time we visit we will stay longer. I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful place.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greven, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

warm and friendly atmosphere. the staff is enchanting and super friendly. every evening we discussed with very nteresting guests in the house, eating cheese and drinking wine together. i love the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We just stayed for 2 nights at this guest house and from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and relaxed, The staff we're all super friendly and only too happy to help.

The amenities we're great, coffee, tea and port available all day! There was a cheese and wine hour (or so...) each night which was a great opportunity to chat with other guests, Although we didn't use the spa ourselves we we're told it was very good. The town centre was only a few minutes away where there was cafes, restaurants, bars and shops a plenty.

The breakfast was SUPERB and freshly prepared by the talented Antony who prepared home baked bread, muffins and a special each day or eggs anyway you liked - fantastic.

The only negative I would have is that the room we were in (George Sand) was a little compact and sometimes noisy from what sounded like the laundry room next door at inappropriate hours. I also found it a little too light as the blinds were white - could benefit from shutters or blackout blinds.

All in all I would highly recommend you stay here and I would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After our first stay at Carpe Diem we knew that we would return. This was our second stay and, if we could have, we never would have left.
There are many reasons why this is a wonderful place to call home why you are visiting Provincetown; I'll start with the staff. Eddie and David, throughout the day and night, offer friendly, knowledgeable information to help you navigate stay. They are always accommodating, showing great interest in their guests. This manner is the prevalent and constant one amongst the entire staff. Robert and Eddie's brother (sorry for forgetting your name) serve up an amazing breakfast each and every morning and create a congenial atmosphere during breakfast service. This team is led and supported by an amazing group of owners, who run a top-notch operation in an unintrusive manner.
Now for the rooms, again we have only stayed in two, but, because those two rooms were so comfortable and so tastefully done we have vowed to try them all. One of the most special aspects of facility is the courtyard; it is idyllic. Once you pass through the gates into the courtyard you are in a calm and soothing respite from the surrounding chaos of a seaside tourist town. It doesn't end there, the spa services are phenomenal, competent masseuses, beautiful steam room and sauna, a large hot tub and lounge chairs for basking in the sun all enclosed in its own private area.
Breakfast and the Wine and Cheese receptions (held every afternoon) are communal, which prior to staying here I was never a big fan of, the Carpe has changed my mind set concerning this, the conversations with other guests have been interesting and stimulating and have generated some pretty funny dialogue.
Remember, your a short block away from great restaurants, clubs, shops and art galleries with the ocean peeking at you, from time to time, from between the buildings along the street. This is all situated in one of the most unique geographical locations in the world, the Outer Cape, the home of the National Seashore; the "Seashore" is a short bike ride away.
Speaking of bikes, it is nice to have a car because Cape Cod is great place to explore, but, we rarely use our car when we are there, there is no need. I cannot recommend better lodging than the Carpe Diem, it is world class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa

Address: 12 - 14 Johnson Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the center of town this wonderful second empire style Guesthouse & Spa complex offers a new dimension in gracious and luxurious accommodations. Wake up to the smell and taste of fresh coffee, homemade breads and cakes, unwind in our spa with Steamroom, Sauna and Hot Tub, treat yourself to a massage or relax on one of our serene decks and patios. Carpe Diem, your escape beyond the ordinary! A magical place on the edge of the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown
Carpe Diem Guesthouse And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.