We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kids loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch

Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch
MacMillan Pier, Provincetown, MA 02657
(800) 826-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Activities in Provincetown
Type: Parks, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale-watching off the coast of Cape Cod led by expert naturalists.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We saw about 4-5 whales, which the crew admitted was far less due to the weather this season.

But the crew rocked and the boat was very comfortable. And they got us CLOSE to the whales we saw. It was apparent our boat captain knew how to navigate the whales watching him versus the other boats around us.

This trip is a MUST see for families with kids.

I would have given it a 5 if we had seen more whales. So its probably not their fault.

Book with confidence!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    120
    34
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only saw 2 Whales”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was my second tour with this company. The first time was several years ago and was fabulous, so I was a bit disappointed when I went with my family (their first time) last week and only saw two whales. I understand the company is not responsible for the lack of whales and the staff definitely gave us lots of information and did their best. I liked the fact we could get food and drinks on board and enjoyed the cruise itself very much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Family Activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We highly recommend a trip on the Dolphin Fleet. We saw several humpback and fin whales on our journey on the beautiful open sea! The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and quickly pointed out whales upon sightings. The boats provide great viewing for all passengers. There are restrooms and a nice concession stand. Being from Kentucky, whale watching is obviously something we don't get to do in our area so it was a thrill to do this and see so many whales spraying mist and emerging from the water. The dock in the Provincetown area is a beautiful setting and convenient to many shops and food. Definitely worth the money for this activity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Whales around us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My daughter and I made a trip on July 27, 2013. This is our 5th whale watching trip, but previous were from Plymouth.
Dolphin Fleet has the cleanest ships (We traveled on Dolphin VIII). Every corner is washed and painted.
Trip was amazing. We never saw as many Whales, as this time. There are like 30 of them feeding and playing together. They were around the boat and it was so beautiful to see so many of these huge and peaceful animals at the same time.
One tip... Dress well, take something warm even on a hot summer day. It is chilly in the ocean. And don't forget sunscreen and camera!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were blessed with a calm day as the prior day was very windy and wavy. We had a humpback whale right next to our boat and she put on a great show. Amazing to a whale so large move so gracefully through the water. The boat was not crowded so we could go from side to side and get great views. We took the 2:30 tour on Sunday. The boat has restrooms, snack bar with water, soda and coffee. Bring a light jacket, it is colder off shore. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.