We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch

Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch
MacMillan Pier, Provincetown, MA 02657
(800) 826-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Activities in Provincetown
Type: Tours, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whale-watching off the coast of Cape Cod led by expert naturalists.
North Collins, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Back Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We always go to the Dolphin Fleet for the best whale watching experience on the cape! This year we saw a couple of finback whales and a minke. We like how the boat captains treat the animals with great care as people scramble to the side railings for the best view. The naturalist on board is also good at pointing out sightings and explaining what we are seeing. They also summarize the trip as you come back into port. We like the option of being inside for seating, or up top, or on the main level. Something for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    105
    32
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, amazing, must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It was a little cool once we got out on the water and boring through the speech at the beginning..but once you do you will be SO glad you went! We saw over 25 whales of different kinds and ages. Baby whales, momma whales! Easily maybe the coolest thing I've ever done! Spoke to other tourists on the boat that come every year and love it each time. If you go on a day you see no whales you get your money back..but the trip is well worth the expense!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best trip of all time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It would seem that virtually all the local whale watching trips aim for Stellwagen Bank off North Cape Cod so, despite staying in Falmouth, it appeared to make sense for us to travel up to Provincetown in the hope of spending more time at sea actually whale watching rather than 'sailing' to the area. We're glad we did because not only is Provincetown a delight to visit but the Dolphin Fleet whale watching trip provided one of the most exceptional experiences of our lives. From start to finish this trip was thoroughly well organised and totally professional. Our guide was enormously knowledgable and equally enthusiastic and the crew as a whole proved incredibly able in terms of both managing their vessel and seeking out the whales. As with all wildlife 'safari' type activities there has to be a risk that one will be unlucky and see nothing and this trip began slowly. Within half an hour or so however we had our first sighting, one of two enormous Finback whales, both of which we enjoyed numerous sightings of over the next thirty minutes or so. These were followed by a few sightings of the smaller Minke whales and just as we were thinking we had already certainly had full value for money came the best bit of all, the Humpbacks, two of which we 'chased' and watched at close quarters as they provided the magnificent and awesomely iconic 'whale tail' view before one actually swam directly under our boat! Trips just don't get any better and while I appreciate that there is always a degree of luck involved in the success of such ventures great credit must go to the whole crew, they certainly provided the best value for $44 pp that we've ever spent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A must-do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife has always wanted to go whale watching and it's only taken me 35 years! We didn't see as many whales as reported by some but we had a long, close view of one and so very much enjoyed the trip. My better half was over the moon!

My wife can get sea sick just looking at a boat. A cruise once for her birthday was ruined because it was choppy and she was heaving most of the time. Consequently the weather was a major consideration and we were very keen to ensure we went out in good conditions. We took the trouble to go to P-town to enquire about the forecast for the following days. Although the TV forecast for the next day was not good, the Dolphin office assured us that did not apply to the weather at sea and the next day would be good weather and calm.

So we booked for the next day. As the time for the trip approached, the rain and the wind were increasing. After half an hour at sea, the boat was rolling, the rain was lashing down and, despite raincoats, we got wet through and cold. Do not trust the office - our feeling was that they would have predicted a heat wave to get our money.

Despite all of this, we had a great time. Fortunately my wife took the precaution of sickness tablets which worked well. Also we were able to get hot drinks & food from the galley which helped to thaw us out.

From previous reviews, the Dophin fleet has the reputation of not packing their boats, which is why we opted for them. Sure enough, the boat was only about half full so there was ample room. Even when we saw a whale, there was room to get an unobstructed view.

We saw nothing for over an hour which is apparently unusual. Finally some of us had a half-second glimpse of a Minke whale. But then nothing. The trip offers a money back guarantee if no whales are seen so we were wondering whether the glimpse would be enough to rule that out - when another whale was spotted.

We had a couple of good views of a large finback whale for a few seconds before it dived. It finally came back up and we had an excellent view of it for over a minute. For a long period, it was right next to the boat. Being the second biggest creature on earth, it was not far short of the length of the boat and we got an outstanding close up view of it as the whale rolled around on the surface.

So the weather was lousy and we didn't see a lot of whales but we did have an unusually good view of one whale and we were well satisfied. Another box ticked on my wife's wish list!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Disappointing trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had planned to take the 9:30 trip but that was cancelled at the last minute and combined with the 10:00. Unfortunately for the passengers, this ship was very crowded, much like the pictures you see with people 3-4 deep trying to see the whales. We did see two fin whales on our trip but because of the wide where our seats were we weren't able to move around and get good views of the first whale. We did get good views of the 2nd whale. We booked Dolphin based on the recommendation from our hotel. Had I done it again, I would have investigated other options for early morning trips that would probably have been less crowded. Ships were clean and comfortable and staff was pleasant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;