We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Rushed and Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pointe Restaurant

The Pointe Restaurant
82 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly Bistro At Crowne Pointe Inn & Spa)
508-487-6767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pointe Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 106 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prince Street
Description: Located at The Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, The Pointe Restaurant serves modern American cuisine. Located in the Inn’s famous sea captain’s mansion, diners enjoy the sophisticated, yet relaxed atmosphere. With just 50 seats, the Bistro offers an intimate dining experience with first-class service that matches its premier dishes and award-winning wine list. The Bistro works with a vast network of local purveyors to provide fresh ingredients that inspire our executive chef to create alluring dishes that change daily. From line-caught seafood and naturally raised meat to the organic produce. Enjoy Provincetown lobster fresh from our tank or choose from the many items on our more casual dining selections great for sharing. The Pointe's menu has something for everyone including various seafood selections, several beef and pork items, as well as vegetairan options.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Felt Rushed and Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had tickets to see Whoopi Goldberg, so we had a somewhat early reservation for 6:15pm. We heard this place was an excellent place for a romantic dinner. We arrived and were seated immediately on the covered porch. We ordered wine and took in the view of Bradford Street. Our waiter came back within 2 minutes to take our order. On a fluke, I ordered the Herbed Chatham Hake, and my partner the Pork Cutlet. The entrees arrived literally 10 minutes later and my Hake was tough, requiring a knife and fork to cut it. My partner's pork was over cooked and somewhat dry. Another 10 minutes and they water came by to clear the table. When we passed on dessert, the bill was presented immediately. We were out of there at 7pm and asking "What just happened?" I've never had a sit-down meal in Ptown where we were in and out in 45 minutes before. Maybe they had an off night or because they weren't busy, but it was not a good experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
When the guest first sat with us they indicated they had tickets for a show and needed to be there by a certain time. I apologize if we went a bit far on that. We do our best to please everyone as best we can. We so hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    40
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had our anniversary dinner here. the beautiful view of the pilgrim monument, the incredible table service, and the food was amazing! I can't want to go back next year!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Owner at The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks so much for sharing we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife had the hake, and I had the halibut. Both were perfectly cooked and delicious. I made a mistake with dessert. I saw someone's Red Velvet cake. The portion was huge, but it was not chocolate enough for me. The only negative part of our dinner was that they had the air conditioning set too cold. We were uncomfortable with the strong air flow from the vent. We actually felt more comfortable when we left to walk back to our hotel in the humid high seventies temperature.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Owner at The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing, please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I ate here only once during our trip, but would have done so more often if it would have been more toward the beginning of our stay. The food was delicious and the martinis divine. Service was great and prices were spot on for the value.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Owner at The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing please come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmony ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Food served by happy and helpful waiters porh converted to dining room Pilgrim monument sits in your lap beautiful at night food very good cooked well try the 2 lb lobster

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your experience and your lobster. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe Restaurant also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pointe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.