We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach. Refreshing swimming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Race Point Beach

Race Point Beach
Race Point Road, Provincetown, MA 02657
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 attractions in Provincetown
Type: Beaches
Activities: Swimming
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic beach. Refreshing swimming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the visit. The beach is reasonably secluded for this part of the world. Try to get there before 9:30 am and you will only have a few more groups. We were greeted by smiles of the park rangers running the parking lot. From the reviews I thought the beach would be much furthur away and was a tad concerned with a 6 yo an 9 yo but we packed light; froze water bottles. Didn't take the cooler in. The beach isn't far but it is still a hike waking through the dunes. We regretted not bringing a lunch for the kids as we'd only planned to stay an hr or so and ended up staying 4-5 hrs. While the water appears calm, swimmers need to be careful and not venture too far. There is a heck of an undertow. We saw seals but no whales. Worth the visit to Cape Cod for this beach alone. Water was low 60s in early July and once you talked yourself in it was refreshing in hot weather.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    74
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to Race Point Beach July 4th. We got an oversand permit and drove onto the beach. It was so relaxing and peaceful! Not real crowded, pleasant and a wonderful way to enjoy the 4th with family and friends! You will not be disappointed with this beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Made for Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This beach is on an incline, however there are blue mats going down the sandy hill to help you walk so that its not too tough on your ankles. It also helps for those of you with wheels on your coolers or bags. At the end of the mats you have your choice of location to park your things for a fun filled day. The water was a little cool, but if you are lucky you might be able to spot a sea lion or seal (sorry we only saw it swimming by so could not figure out which one).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Probably one of the most beautiful beaches in America. Love the size and the space you are afforded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunning and Quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My fiance and I visited Race Point on July 4th, and it was nothing short of fantastic. The views and cleanliness of the beach were amazing! Not to mention that it wasnt even packed for a holiday! I cant wait to go back the next time we visit the cape!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Race Point Beach also viewed

 

Been to Race Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Race Point Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Race Point Beach to your Saves list