We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Beach in Mass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Race Point Beach

Race Point Beach
Race Point Road, Provincetown, MA 02657
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Provincetown
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nicest Beach in Mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As the title says, this is the nicest beach I've been to in MA (and I was born and raised in this state). My husband and I were staying in PTown for a few days and decided to check out Race Point. It ended up being our favorite thing that we did. We paid around $50 for a 7 day Oversand Permit. We had to watch a 15 min. video and then we could drive the truck through the dunes right onto the beach... it was so cool! We were there on a weekday, it was perfect weather and it was not crowded at all. It was like being on a private beach. The water was clear and great for swimming. We saw seals too! We were allowed to bring our dog (as long as she stayed on a 6 ft. leash). It was really a beautiful place to spend the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    95
    17
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Race Point-Huge Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a huge beach with room for all of P-Town. However, if you have trouble walking this is not the beach for you. Although it is beautiful, it is quite a walk from your car down to the ocean. The dune angles downward toward the water. It's even a harder walk back "up" the dune to your car. It only a small incline, but walking a distance in loose sand isn't easy for anyone. Still, it is my favorite beach for beach combing, and watching the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great beach....you can totally see seals! Clean and delightful! With families and couples alike. Parking was $15, but very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Take a bike - and don't miss a walk in the dunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

In a twon where most attractions are on the street, no trip to Provincetown is complete without spending some time at Race Point. The best way to get there is by bike and there are plenty of spots to explore - or just relax.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Long walk to ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Decent amount of parking but it is a long walk from the parking lot to the actual beach. They do have walking mats installed - kind of like plastic carpet runner to help walk over the dunes to get to the actual beach area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Race Point Beach also viewed

 

Been to Race Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Race Point Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.