We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews Restaurant & Cafe

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
429 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2315
508-487-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 121 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: $26 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We made a reservation at the Mews because of the excellent reviews that we read. And, the restaurant does have a lot of plusses, but there were also a couple of problems. Parking even in off-season is a disaster. I am handicapped and it would have been nice if one or two spaces would be reserved for clients who have trouble walking. An asset is that we could hear one another; something that seems to becoming increasingly rare in American restaurants. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. Our appetizers were very good; I had the crab cake and my partner had the mussels. My entree was the duck; I had heard that The Mews specialised in fish, but on the previous six nights I had fish at every meal and ordered the duck. I was not disappointed. My partner 's was however; unfortunately, neither of us remember what he ordered, so the only conclusion that we can make is that at least one entree is forgettable. We skipped dessert, but ordered an espresso and a cappuccino. After a few minutes, the waiter returned to our table and informed us that the espresso machine had broken down. It was an anticlimactic end to our meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    127
    42
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stratford upon avon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The food was good when we visited but we found the upstairs dining room just too noisy and the staff a bit too keen to rush us through so that they could reuse the table. Not a good place for a romantic meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We love going to the Mews. The food and atmosphere is fabulous. It is a staple for us every year when we visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had the best dinner here during our mini-getaway in P-town during Easter. The restaurant is a bit off the touristy area in P-town. We requested a table by the window which has a nice view of the waterfront.

We had the Boar "Nan" pizza which was out of this world. I would highly recommend. We then shared the poached pear salad which was equally delicious. I had the roasted half duck as entree; the skin was crispy and the meat was tender and juicy. My friend had the lobster vindaloo which was hot and spicy with generous amount of lobster meat.

Last but not least, the cocktails were excellent and plenty of choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific Place to Dine in P-town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have dined at The Mews several times over the years. The restaurant is a delightful place to enjoy the food and the upscale vibe of the town. The food is excellent and the hospitality is always superb. Locals and tourists alike dine here because of the consistent excellence of the food and spirits. My companions had a white wine that was recommended by the server to compliment the food they had and my friends said the wine was exactly right for the meal. Fine recommendations are all a part of this great dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.