We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food! Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews Restaurant & Cafe

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
429 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2315
508-487-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Food! Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The menu was very interesting and varied. I had a filet and it was extremely tender and very tasty! Salads and appetizers were delicious. The service was very good and the dessert menu was very nice as well. We would definitely go back next time we visit Provincetown!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    135
    44
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Innovative Menu, fantastic service, great value...that's just a start!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I've been coming to this restaurant with family, friends, and my partner for at least 10 years. Every year and every visit gets better each time. The staff are fantastic. I highly suggest making a reservation even during the off-season (winter months) as this is one of the few restaurants that stays open year-around. Ask to sit in the ocean-side (downstairs) dining room---it makes for a beautiful view while enjoying dinner. I consistently take "out-of-towners" and other guests here because I know they will be impressed by the quality of the food, the innovative and captivating menu, as well as the high-level of service. The staff and management are just the best and are always willing to accommodate your needs. The restaurant is a must-visit if you want a consistently high quality dining experience surrounded by the beautiful Provincetown water-front. I make it a point to visit at least 5 times a year and this year will be no different! Thank you to the Mews staff and management for many wonderful meals and here's to many more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Another excellent meal. Warmly welcomed by Karl and seated at a great table. Wonderful energy at the mews. Pear salad, warm goat cheese salad, and Caesar salad; great way to start. The lobster risotto was fabulous as were the cod and ribeye. A fun evening with good friends, great food, and excellent service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had a lovely solo dinner at the Mews in early March. The service and setting were both great. I liked the lobster vindaloo very much, although it was at my maximum level for heat. The lobster dumplings in miso broth should have been great but it was way too salty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The complete package!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Great food and great service! Fantastic location on the beach.
The servers couldn't be nicer, they go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your dining expierence. We have always enjoyed our meal. They have 2 levels, fine dining on lower level and our favorite the cafe on the upper level . Good wine list and crazy vodka list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.