We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Disappointing Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews Restaurant & Cafe

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
429 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2315
508-487-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Food, Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Although the food here is usually very good and the view is outstanding there is more often than not a problem with service. On the numerous occasions that I've eaten here I've only been pleased with the service once. The host is never pleasant and the waiters can be dismissive and unaccomodating. But, I keep going back because the food is good. However, my most recent experience finally turned me so off that I'm not sure the food can make up for it. We made a reservation in the cafe for 8:15pm on a Sunday. When we arrived, on time, the host informed us that we could not be seated for another 45 minutes. When I asked why, the answer I got was, "We're busy." Is that any way to treat a customer? I think not. The host ended up seating us in the formal dining room so that we wouldn't have to wait so long even though it was not really where we wanted to be. He told us to tell our waiter that we would like the cafe menu instead of the dining room menu. When we did, you could see that it was not well received by our waiter, but after more than 20 minutes he brought us one cafe menu. When we all ordered salads and burgers again he was not too pleased and it showed. I really like the food here and the location is great, but before I go back and before I can recommend it the restaurant really needs to improve its staff's attitude.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    135
    44
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great martini, great service and even greater food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The grapefruit martini is outstanding. It's perfect if you don't want something sweet or with a strong taste of alcohol. the service was impeccable and my tuna sushi tempora was amazing. I also had the pork vindaloo spicey but excellent as was the nan. My only criticism, serve it with Basmati rice not plain white. The chocolate torte was chocolate decadence. Martinis, apps., main course, and dessert for under $90 per person; it's a deal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine and Atmosphere at The Mews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We visit Provincetown, MA each September, enjoy the many great restaurants,.. especially The Mews. Warm and romantic atmosphere with just the right energy level,..interesting decor and harborside views. Perfect for special, memorable occasions. Consistently great food, excellent service. The duck is one of my favorites. Seafood always excellent as well. Some seasonal dishes. The Mews features more vodkas than you ever thought exist! We look forward to dining there a couple of times during our stay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wouldn't accommodate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have finally struck out at the Mews. After several bad experiences there, waiters who would not help with Gluten issues, barely warm food we have decided to no longer frequent this restaurant. We had made 3 attempts over the years for special celebrations there. Our parties of more than 8 were always refused. We could do 2 tables of 4 but not sit together. we were offered an 8:45 seating in the middle of december and stopped to see half of the tables unfilled. I think it is an attitude where people are sure that people will continue to give them business. We will no longer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outer Cape fine dining at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have been coming to the Cape and P-town for years. The Mews is one of our favorites for an exceptional and never disappointing dining experience. We go there for brunch on Sundays, with a "to die for build your own Bloody Mary Bar", and dinner a couple nights on our stay. The view is exceptional and the food and service consistently great. They offer a choice of experiences for dinner with an upscale and upbeat bar at the dining area upstairs at night. Downstairs is more quiet with plush booths or comfortable window tables and much more quiet. The staff is exceptional and many of them have been there for years. If you come to Provincetown, this is a must and has a long history of great food and professional servers . . . and who knows, you may even run into some of your favorite movie or Broadway stars who also make this one of their sure-to-go-to stops when visiting P-Town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mews Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.