We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Pot

Lobster Pot
321 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2202
508-487-0842
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 121 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: “A Provincetown tradition” to those visiting the Outer Cape., our two waterfront dining roomsprovide the harbor view while our full menu, served all day, offers the finest & freshest in seafood,Portuguese specialties, steaks, poultry, vegetarian and light fare. Cocktails served in the “TOP” of thePot bar...famous for our Bloody Mary’s & Signature Drinks.. Home of Tim’s award winning Clam Chowder.ZAGAT Survey…Top Restaurants on Cape Cod.
East Haven
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The restaurant appears small, with a narrow street frontage, but it's much larger as it's longer than it looks and also extends upstairs. If there's a line, relax, it'll move quickly. Or go off-time and avoid the regular rush hours for lunch and dinner. From the entrance, walk through the prep and kitchen area to the hostess stand about halfway back to get seated.

The shrimp dish I had was absolutely amazing! One of my top ten favorites ever. The sauce was made with black pepper, and tabasco with a bit of a kick and it draped the huge shrimp with a creamy veil. My husband also enjoyed his meal of fried clam strips. The crisp, fresh salad was served family style, with ramekins of all four house-made dressings including Bleu Cheese, Toasted Sesame and Creamy Garlic.

This is a restaurant we'll visit on every trip to Provincetown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    416
    151
    60
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Casual and Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Provincetown one year ago and having never been there before we didn't know anything about it. We were just walking around and wanted some lunch and decided on The Lobster Pot.It looked the way you would expect a New England coastal restaurant to look but that does not always mean it is good. Needless to say the casual feeling of the dining area did not mean bad food. Our meal was fantastic and the staff was right on the money. I had oysters rockefeller which I have not been able to find in years and lobster bisque. Both were amazing. The food came promptly but with no feeling of being rushed. Even though the place was very busy we never had the feeling that we were being pushed through. Outstanding!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Ate there several times. Casual dining although not casual pricing. Food is fresh and their home-made variety of salad dressings is the best.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Lobster!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I came here on a family trip last week to get my lobster fix. The host told us to go upstairs vs the downstairs dining room, as the host said that we would like the booth upstairs better. The view of the harbor was nice, but the booth had hard bench seating - not comfy at all, but it was fine. The restaurant has a dated feel to it, but i guess that is part of the experience. The bar upstairs was full of locals chatting with a friendly bartender, who we soon discovered, was also our waitress. It took awhile for the bartender to come to our table to order, but when the food finally arrived, it was worth the wait! The lobster panini was amazing! If you are a lobster lover, then this is your place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Came here on my trip last week to get my chowder fix. Was told to go upstairs vs the downstairs dining room. Also, took awhile for the bartender to come to my table to order....but...the chowder was great!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Pot also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.