We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront and close to P-Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   929 Commercial St, Rte 6A, PO Box 576, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Waterfront and close to P-Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We're definitely going back. When we first arrived late Saturday night, we asked for a room change right away because the 1st floor unit oceanfront smelled of mildew. The person at the front desk gave us a unit on the third floor which we LOVED. Clean, big enough for 2 adults, AMAZING location. Large balcony overlooking the bay, kitchen small but clean and well-enough equipped. Fridge was large enough for the week's groceries for 2 adults. One can quickly see that it is just as RCI says, a hotel conversion, which means it's the size of a standard hotel room with 2 dbl beds. Sandcastle units have a couch and murphy bed which was too firm for my liking, but certainly new enough mattress--no sagging. Liked putting the bed away and having more space. It's the perfect location in my opinion because it is close enough to Provincetown (2 miles or so) but far enough away to be incredibly quiet and peaceful. There were very few others at Sandcastle during our week, which helped make it quiet. I don't recommend it for more than 2 people, maybe plus one young child. The entire resort seemed clean and pretty well-kept. Pool renovation was well done. The front staff talked proudly about this winter's renovation plans including new sliding glass doors and carpeting, which I will agree is badly needed. Only problem with staff was that they didn't recycle (we tried to), and it is the law in that region. I just wished we'd known we could reserve extra days directly from the resort. And that we don't need to exchage a timeshare week, so we can go any time and stay any length of time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    23
    22
    20
See reviews for
42
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
phila,pa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Shame on you, RCI. What happened to five star accommondations? The only stars here are in the sky. I would not house my dog or cat here. The place is filthy! We checked in on Saturday and out on Monday. We stayed in our car on Saturday night. Sunday it rained all day and we stayed out and much as we could. Monday morning we were waiting for the office to open @ 8:00am, so we could check out.One of the worst things was not being able to let air in and maintain our privacy on the first floor. Save your vacation and time, DO NOT COME HERE!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califronai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This resort had some hard times, but things are looking up under new management. Upgrades have already begun. The lobby has been redecorated. Pizza was served to those who arrived on Saturday afternoon. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They provided a lobster pot when I needed it to cook my lobsters and came at the time I requested to replace light bulbs.

Although the facilities are old and in need of renovation (which they will get soon), the units are well appointed and remarkably functional. The small kitchen was quite functional and allowed us to turn out and eat nice meals, The room was cheerful and well furnished.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway in Provincetown, where you can cook, park, get into town, bike, explore the cape, etc. This is a good match for you. If you a looking for a fancy hotel in the center of town, it is not. This is our third time herein the past five years. We are hoping to get back next year, and are looking forward to the changes and improvements that are forthcoming.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The overall situation is in dire fall off. It was great till a few years ago. The outside pool collapsed. The upkeep is so terrible that anyone i recommended the resort to has ran away. At this point they should sell out for a new group to tear it down and rebuild. A WHITE ELEPHANT. Look at the units before you buy or rent.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The first room we were given was awful. No privacy (ground floor near outdoor pool) with people walking in front of your windows all day and night and children very noisey. Noise from overhead floor s was unbelievable. We were going to leave if not offered a better room but fortunately we were. We were on an exchange with RCI for a full week, our property being a 4* apartment in Portugal which is 10 times better than this place. RCI really need to look at this property as it does not reflect its usual standard. To be fair the position is good as it is on the beach and quite near to P-town (which is brill). It seems there are alot of families who go every year and are used to the facilities, it all depends on what you want. Ok for 3 or 4 nights but that is plenty.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skagbag
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

wow lot's of bad review's - well i knew i was comming to old cape cod & did not expect a ritz we had a 1 bedroom smack on cape cod bay the view made up for the old stile room. i did hear they have a new owner & are planning a compleat renovation i will go back i love ptown it is deff. olde cape cod i thought of the pilgram's sailing around the horn & landing in 1492.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Having stayed at partnering resorts all over the country, this one was a huge dissapointment. Our room was located directly next to the front desk and their supply closet. Into the late hours of the night, we could hear everyone's conversation. There was no balcony, no view, and the room was so small that the bed had to pulled out of the wall for us to sleep at night!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort

Address: 929 Commercial St, Rte 6A, PO Box 576, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Provincetown
Sandcastle Condominiums And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.