We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a bummer!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   929 Commercial St, Rte 6A, PO Box 576, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“what a bummer!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

By way of a premium timeshare swap we were given a room with a/c but didnt need to put it on all week. Not their fault. Had nothing but rain from Sunday to Thursday. From there on it continued down hill. Was 2nd floor walkup, no elevator, even for suitcases/bags. Efficiency unit had no counter space. Window screens were missing so mechanic came to put them in. One of the two didnt fit well so bugs were able to get in. Parking lot flooded in rain so were unable to drive in/out thru entrance. Had to use the rear lot, of which our room had a view, to enter the premises. Beach is a long, arduous walk from hotel thru beach grasses, only to find there is no sand. Other Cape beaches faster to get to by car, and swimmable. Resorts' planned activities were shuttered due to weather, like barbeque, pool bar, and some excursions off premises. Probably went on every tour offsite we could find because of the poor weather, ie; wine tasting, orchard & winery tour, lighthouse tour, dune tour, etc. Resort offered a "club discount" book but most of the restaurants in the book were overpriced or under quality and several of them were both.

The resort needs a bit more than a facelift. Room staff was accomodating but front desk staff were difficult to deal with.

Room Tip: Go in August if you want to avoid typical New England coastal weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    23
    22
    20
See reviews for
42
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff is nice...location is great...facilities are trashy. Some basic things: needs paint, new wallpaper, new key system, ELEVATOR, real handicap accessible rooms, new windows, new screen doors --- I had to fight mine every time I wanted to get in my room, a/c in the beachfront rooms (my room was sweltering with just a box fan....no windows...no ceiling fan...I suppose I could have left the sliding glass door open but the deck was shared...not very secure)...new bed spreads...Basically, someone with a ton of $ needs to come in and do a major upgrade.

Room Tip: if you are going to stay here just don't expect much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was given a room with NO AC, but charged for a view of the pool (not ocean). Staff was accommodating and moved me and a friend to another room (parking lot view) With an AC. Room was clean and efficient but VERY small, Thin walls meant you could hear neighbors and people on the stairs. But Price wasnt bad for the location

Room Tip: Make sure it has an AC before you book, and try not to get a room near the main check in area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff were super friendly and very hospitable. If you are looking for a place that is very bare bones than this is the place for you. I only have a couple complaints. There is no Air Conditioning in any of the rooms (although they do supply fan's). And 80% of the rooms are Time Shares and families of children (crying and screaming kids at the pool before 8 am and most of the rooms overlook the pool area) Had some problems with checking in but they fully admitted it was their fault and totally made up for it! I don't know if i would stay here again! I probably would if they invested in putting air conditioning in all their rooms. But I did spend a lot of money for 2 night for what I got.

Room Tip: The lower numbers (like 100-110 & 200-210 & 300-310) are ocean views. All the others are poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is so much wrong with this place I don't know where to begin. No coffee available before 8 am, then you have to pay for it. Locks and chains on the ice machine. The restaurant is a small take-out window next to the pool with horrible food open only after 9 am. The beach has a massive 2 foot deep mat of black seaweed covering it with no place to lay a towel and no exposed sand except at lowest tide. The rooms are tiny cubicles devoid of furniture except a pullout sofa and Murphy bed (the kind that stores upright inside the wall) which fills up the whole place when down. No air conditioning, which is OK except there are no windows so the only way to get ventilation is to leave the doors open, one of which is right on a busy motel walkway so lots of noise and zero privacy. Also, the door screens are pulled out of their frames and flapping so you are attacked by mosquitos all night, and the management never comes to fix this though they promise to do so. No reading lamps just overhead lighting. Loud obnoxious teenagers hang out and talk under your balcony at night. The worst part is you are stuck in the middle of nowhere, two miles from the nearest store or coffee shop, trapped with nothing to do but watch obnoxious people and wander around a beach with no visible sand but plenty of greenhead flies... We came here via the ferry so it was a huge shlep without a car. No parking worries but Ptown looked like a distant inaccessible island on the horizon.

Room Tip: beach side units have no A/C and are far from front desk, ground floor units seem like security risk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here because of the positive reviews.Great location next to the beach with good views and an average outdoor pool but that's all the positives I've got from our stay. I should preface this by saying i hardly ever review anything but don't want anybody else to make the mistake of staying here with their family.Got to our room (3rd floor pool side)and unlocked the door but had to literally slam the door to get it to open because it was stuck so bad. Once we were inside we were greeted with a BO smell that would evoke the gag reflex of anyone(bring the febreeze). The rooms look old and outdated and are not cleaned well. The glass door for the balcony wouldn't open short of getting a hernia,probably why the room smelled so bad. The floor was sloped toward the center of the room and upon opening the top drawer attempting to put our clothes away the dresser almost fell on our 21 month old baby but both me and my wife were able to react quickly and kept it from coming all the way down. after cursing for a good while we decided to get some sleep....... upon pulling the The Murphy bed down we learned that it was extremely hard and smelled like wet plywood. one of the worst nights sleep of my life,my back still cringes thinking about this bed.last
Y the wi-fi didn't work so don't expect to stay in contact with the outside world.Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. I can't believe the positive reviews people have of this place. They must have been staying at a different place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Run away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a week.
The good: we scored a room at the back of the hotel with a great view and experience of the harbor. I love the sound of the ocean and the spray on our windows.
Great shuttle service into town help for only $1 for seniors otherwise $2.
The staff were great.

Not so good:
The indoor pool was usually a little too cool and they did not require nor provide for showers so the pool felt like there was a little too much humanity for it. My wife thought it was a saltwater pool but it was not.
The indoor hot tub was really a warm tub.
Our studio was quite tiny. It had white trim but some darker wood cabinets were clearly added later. As one of the owners I met said: the place was kind of shacky but that was part of its charm. I agree.

The bad:
Our Murphy bed smelled like wet plywood.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort

Address: 929 Commercial St, Rte 6A, PO Box 576, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Provincetown
Sandcastle Condominiums And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.