We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best possible experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucker Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tucker Inn
Save
You added Tucker Inn to your Saves list
12 Center Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forest Hills
2 reviews
“The best possible experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Tucker Inn absolutely surpassed anything we could've possibly hoped for in a Bed and Breakfast.

First off, the breakfast - MASSIVE and DELICIOUS fresh made-to-order meals each morning (omelets, pancakes, waffles, and/or french toast, plus bagels/muffins/cereals for the taking). There were days where we ate breakfast around 9:00 and weren't the slightest bit hungry again until dinner at 7:00 or later. The breakfast is no joke.

Next, the rooms - comfortable, clean, perfect, perfect, perfect.

As for location, you cannot beat it. It's a block in from Commercial St, which means you're steps away from everything Provincetown has to offer, but you don't hear any of the noise from your room.

And I can't not mention the absolute pleasure it was to stay with Tom and Howard. The HIGHLIGHT of our trip was the Saturday evening cocktail party. Not only was there a plethora of drinks and DELICIOUS food present, but it was such a wonderful experience to chat with other folks staying at the Inn. Honestly, my girlfriend and I were planning to stop in for a quick drink, then head out for a night on the town, but we were instantly hooked and that became our only evening plans. Such a warm welcoming environment. Truly something I'll never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #4 (7/19-7/24). I was slightly concerned that we'd hear noise from foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    13
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
145
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

That being said, our room was tiny with huge furniture, including a enormous flatscreen TV mounted in such a way that you have to make your way around. We banged our shins several times on the bed frame. (We are not large people by anyone's estimation.) There's even a chair in the hallway that partially blocks the door to the room (wouldn't this be a fire hazard?). While I appreciate the cooked-to-order breakfast (quite delicious and generous!), the timing is a little annoying: we ordered together, but my partner was practically finished with his omelet before my French Toast arrived. The second morning we were prepared to spend more time with Bfast. The location of the Inn, the friendly owners, and the beautiful back deck/patio/hottub area are huge pluses for this place. We had a nice stay and would come back (but try a different room).

Room Tip: We had room 8 - which should be avoided. Not sure about the other rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not witness this - it's probably all behind the scenes. Nice earth-friendly bath products though.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuckerHost, Owner at Tucker Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We're delighted that you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

We are a bed and breakfast and we take both our beds and our breakfasts very seriously. The bed in room 8 is a mahogany sleigh bed newly acquired from the wonderful Restoration Hardware. All our beds are from Restoration or the amazing Chelsea NYC based bed maker, Charles P. Rogers. These days it's unusual to get a real bed in a hotel or an inn -- mostly it''s mattresses and box springs on stands with something attached to the wall. We believe in real beds with great linens.

It is true that we provide flat panel HD TVs in our rooms along with state-of-the art air conditioning, but we take the time and effort to wall mount them on moveable mounts so they can be moved out of the way, if need be.

We are sorry that your breakfast didn't have perfect timing. However, we are almost unique in Provincetown in offering cooked to order breakfasts with your choice of ingredients and toppings. We try to get as much of our food locally as we can. We always do our French Toast with Portuguese Sweet Bread baked at the local Portuguese Bakery. We're a small kitchen and we'd had several French Toast orders that morning so we had to dash down the street for a fresh loaf, hence the 'annoying' timing. Our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at a number of B&Bs in Provincetown, and the Tucker Inn is now one of our favorites. Great location, close to Commercial in the near east end. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the parking lot. We were initially concerned about noise, but it turned out to be quiet. The room, while small, was very comfortable and extremely clean. Self controlled air conditioning was priceless on a hot and humid weekend. Also a fireplace for cool, fall, visits. A "real" breakfast was served every morning (made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes, etc.), and a Saturday evening happy hour with a full bar and nibbles. Casual, friendly environment. We will definately stay at the Tucker again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My soon to be husband and I spend a week in Provincetown every summer for the last 18 years. We have stayed in almost every Inn and or Guest House in Ptown. Last Summer we stayed at the Tucker Inn for the first time and new after that
we would not need to search again. The staff is fantastic especially Michelle the housekeeper. The rooms are kept up to date and spotlessly cleaned every day. The breakfasts are award winning and there is always soft drinks cookies and food out for after the beach or a night of partying.
Howard and Thomas are just wonderful hosts
I highly recommend staying here

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I had been wanting to plan a trip with our pup, Mr. Buttons. Not only did Ptown leave us in awe of its quaint strip of restaurants, shops and bars, but the beaches were beautiful too.
Thankfully, we came across the Tucker Inn when planning our trip. The location was perfect (on a little side street off the main strip, Commercial Street). We could not have asked for a better and more hospitable experience. The historic home was immaculate and beautifully decorated with a Southeast Asian theme. Most imporantly, this home is also pet friendly. The breakfast was delicious, as well as the company we enjoyed it with! Thank you for such a great experience that we'll always cherish!

Room Tip: We had a chance to peep into some of the rooms and all looked beautiful! We stayed in room #8, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Where to start? Howard and Thomas are perfect hosts; rooms are well appointed and up to date. The patio area is just delightful, great place to hang and plan your next adventure. Loved sharing space with the dogs, wish our sweet Lab had been traveling with us. Breakfast delicious and freshly prepared. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Recently stayed for a Saturday night. The hospitality upon entering this beautiful BnB was top notch. The two hosts were beyond helpful and informative. The house was beautifully kept and very clean, but what was most beautiful was the outside patio/backyard oasis. We were lucky the weather was so nice, so we sat outside and had breakfast there, also the landscaping is perfect and there is a hot tub to enjoy as well.

We stayed in room 1 and it was a very nice room with fireplace and attached bathroom. The bed was super comfy with multiple pillows. The TV and cable was a nice touch and easy to use. The room was spotless. There were even white terry cloth robes in the closet, which came in handy after a dip in the hot tub.

The breakfast in the morning was divine, there is nothing continental about it. They offered muffins, fruit salad, assorted breads and bagels, and hot dishes you can have made to order!

The best part of our stay is the Saturday night cocktail party-- it runs 5 to about 7 and it was so much fun! Drinks were make your own, with lots to choose from and of course the best was the house special cosmos. There was also an assortment of snacks such as dips and hummus, delicious mini meatballs and the best bruschetta ever. I didnt even bother with dinner afterwards.

This is a dog friendly BnB, with 2 dogs belonging to the owners. They are always around and very friendly, so make sure you are comfortable with that.

We will certainly be returning!

Room Tip: Room 1 is next to the outside patio area, so you'll want your curtains drawn at times for privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker Inn

Address: 12 Center Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine bed and breakfast with a dash of the exotic located on a quiet side street in the heart of Provincetown. All modern amenities, flat-screens, wi-fi, state-of-the art climate control, in a gently restored 1872 Second Empire Cottage. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucker Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.